Lemon Sponge Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2000
This is a wonderful recipe. The low temperature at which it bakes makes all the difference in the world. No worry about it getting too dark, and yet the filling sets beautifully. The results are superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I have made this pie several times for our family and they love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I joined this site so that I could review this recipe! I made it a month ago to take to a potluck supper, where it got rave reviews. So I decided to make it again and enter it in a heritage pie contest. It won third place! Thank you, Kitty. This is a wonderfully refreshing pie - a real change from lemon meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is the BEST pie recipe. I've been meaning to make a lemon sponge pie ever since I first tried one at a Pennsylvanian Dutch restaurant. The one there was heavenly, and this one is just as good. I haven't made a lot of pies, but this recipe is simple and produces great results. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it. I even had to make another one the day after because of the demand. The pie comes out spongy on top and custardy on bottom and VERY lemony. A must for the holidays or any occasion. I used a standard pie pan (9")but I had a lot of leftover filling, so for my second pie I used a larger, deep dish pie pan (10" with a 2" depth) which was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is delicious. As one person said it does take time to prepare but it is wonderful. My filling was a little runny, maybe I should have baked it an extra 5 mins. I made it just as the recipe called for. Even with my soft filling it was still delicious. My husband loves lemon and he said it was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This pie is great....strong lemon flavor. I used zest and juice of 3 lemons. My family loved it as much as the Amish lemon sponge pie we buy on our trips to Lancaster County, pa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I made this pie exactly as written and used a large pie plate. It turned out perfect - a layer of custard on the bottom and sponge on the top, the way a lemon sponge pie should be! Thanks, Kitty for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is very good, and very easy to make. Be aware, though, that it does make alot of filling. I used a 10 inch deep dish pie plate, and still had a bit too much. I managed to get it all in, but it overflowed a bit. Normally that wouldn't be a problem, but even the little bit of smoke my oven produced managed to sink into the top 1/4 inch of the pie. lemon sponge pie should never have a smokey flavor. I took off the top little bit and it was then fabulous. I'll just put a little less in next time,and voila fab pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Wow! This is excellent. Didn't know what to expect, but I wanted something lemony that wasn't Lemon Meringue, and this was perfect. Followed the recipe exactly, except I used a reduced fat pre-made graham cracker crust. With this substitute, the pie was practically guilt-free, and certainly worth every bite--YUM! Between three people, the pie was gone in less than 40 minutes! The pie crust wasn't a deep dish, so I had some filling left over--baked it in ramekins along w/ the pie in the same oven and for the same amount of time. UPDATE: Made this last night, only used 1 c. of sugar, and increased the lemon juice to 1/2 c.--I LOVE lemon, and this small change made it healthier and even tastier too! You can also make this with no crust, in a pie plate w/ some no-stick spray, or in little individual ramekins...the baking time and temp. is still the same. Without the crust, it's less than 150 calories per serving and has only 2 grams of fat, but still has a deliciously decadent taste:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This pie has become a true family favorite, and makes a wonderful dessert for company or Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntington Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States