Lemon Sponge Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Wow! This is excellent. Didn't know what to expect, but I wanted something lemony that wasn't Lemon Meringue, and this was perfect. Followed the recipe exactly, except I used a reduced fat pre-made graham cracker crust. With this substitute, the pie was practically guilt-free, and certainly worth every bite--YUM! Between three people, the pie was gone in less than 40 minutes! The pie crust wasn't a deep dish, so I had some filling left over--baked it in ramekins along w/ the pie in the same oven and for the same amount of time. UPDATE: Made this last night, only used 1 c. of sugar, and increased the lemon juice to 1/2 c.--I LOVE lemon, and this small change made it healthier and even tastier too! You can also make this with no crust, in a pie plate w/ some no-stick spray, or in little individual ramekins...the baking time and temp. is still the same. Without the crust, it's less than 150 calories per serving and has only 2 grams of fat, but still has a deliciously decadent taste:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is the BEST pie recipe. I've been meaning to make a lemon sponge pie ever since I first tried one at a Pennsylvanian Dutch restaurant. The one there was heavenly, and this one is just as good. I haven't made a lot of pies, but this recipe is simple and produces great results. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it. I even had to make another one the day after because of the demand. The pie comes out spongy on top and custardy on bottom and VERY lemony. A must for the holidays or any occasion. I used a standard pie pan (9")but I had a lot of leftover filling, so for my second pie I used a larger, deep dish pie pan (10" with a 2" depth) which was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2000
This is a wonderful recipe. The low temperature at which it bakes makes all the difference in the world. No worry about it getting too dark, and yet the filling sets beautifully. The results are superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This didn't really turn out for me, but I think I know how I can fix it so it does. The sponge part was mostly good, but the bottom part was runny like other users had mentioned. I don't know that more time in the oven would have helped, because I had it in for another 10 minutes and I was about to burn the top part. The crust, since it was not previously baked, never cooked on the bottom. I am thinking if I would have baked the pie crust for about ten minutes and then poured the lemon mixture in, it would have helped the crust as well as finish baking the rest of the lemon stuff as well. Something that I will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was a hit with friends that I served it too. I topped it with strawberries (macertated with lots of grand marnier) when I served it. The only problem was beating the egg whites took FOREVER but when I googled afterwards to find why it had taken so long, I read that you should not use fresh eggs (which I did)--a few days old are better for egg white beating and that you should also bring the egg whites to room temperature before beating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I joined this site so that I could review this recipe! I made it a month ago to take to a potluck supper, where it got rave reviews. So I decided to make it again and enter it in a heritage pie contest. It won third place! Thank you, Kitty. This is a wonderfully refreshing pie - a real change from lemon meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is very good, and very easy to make. Be aware, though, that it does make alot of filling. I used a 10 inch deep dish pie plate, and still had a bit too much. I managed to get it all in, but it overflowed a bit. Normally that wouldn't be a problem, but even the little bit of smoke my oven produced managed to sink into the top 1/4 inch of the pie. lemon sponge pie should never have a smokey flavor. I took off the top little bit and it was then fabulous. I'll just put a little less in next time,and voila fab pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail Cobile
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Ever find a recipe that just made you giggle it turned out so well? This one did it for me. Looking for some sort of dessert and found that I had all the ingredients on hand to make this one. I added a photo of it straight out of the oven and another when DH cut into it before it had completely cooled. It was barely warm. The consistency is that of a sponge/custard pie. Very pleasing on the palate and the lemon flavor was just right. All I did was follow instructions...and smile... a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
great tasting, but takes time to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Fabulous! I used 1 cup 2% milk, 1/2C splenda with 1/2 cup reg sugar. Upped lemon juice to 1/2C as I like strong lemon taste. Prebaked pie crust for 7 minutes @350 (docked the heck out of it first) and glad I took that advice from other reviewers. I would also use a deep dish 10" crust if possible as this make plenty of filling. Mine turned out with a 1/2 layer of custard and 1/2 light fluffy sponge on top. I get requests for recipe often. With minor tweaking, this was the best lemon pie & I make it often. Not much work either in my opinion. I topped with homemade whipped cream flavored with a bit of the zest and 1/4 tsp of lemon extract - SO GOOD! *Based on any negative reviews, I wonder if high altitude has something to do with that? Baking has to be altered at higher altitudes - just a thought. Note: I've made this numerous times using above measurments. Turns out perfect every time but I am near sea level for baking. Try this one. I'm glad I did even tho I had no clue what the heck 'sponge' pie was all about :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States