Lemon Sponge Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2000
This is a wonderful recipe. The low temperature at which it bakes makes all the difference in the world. No worry about it getting too dark, and yet the filling sets beautifully. The results are superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
great tasting, but takes time to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I have made this pie several times for our family and they love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I joined this site so that I could review this recipe! I made it a month ago to take to a potluck supper, where it got rave reviews. So I decided to make it again and enter it in a heritage pie contest. It won third place! Thank you, Kitty. This is a wonderfully refreshing pie - a real change from lemon meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is the BEST pie recipe. I've been meaning to make a lemon sponge pie ever since I first tried one at a Pennsylvanian Dutch restaurant. The one there was heavenly, and this one is just as good. I haven't made a lot of pies, but this recipe is simple and produces great results. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it. I even had to make another one the day after because of the demand. The pie comes out spongy on top and custardy on bottom and VERY lemony. A must for the holidays or any occasion. I used a standard pie pan (9")but I had a lot of leftover filling, so for my second pie I used a larger, deep dish pie pan (10" with a 2" depth) which was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I made this pie for my boyfriend and he really liked the flavor and the texture of the "custard". He wasn't crazy about the "sponge" part. I don't eat lemon stuff but I thought it was really flavorful. I used Rice Milk instead of regular milk and I only put in a little bit over a cup of sugar. No one noticed or thought anything tasted different. Good recipe, I will probably make it again and use it just as custard. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is delicious. As one person said it does take time to prepare but it is wonderful. My filling was a little runny, maybe I should have baked it an extra 5 mins. I made it just as the recipe called for. Even with my soft filling it was still delicious. My husband loves lemon and he said it was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I agree with some of the reviews the filling in the pie was runny. There was not enough of the sponge part. My pie crust did not get totally baked, I believe because of the low oven temp. and the wet filling. If I made it again I would pre-bake the crust for 10 to 12 minutes. It did have excellent lemon flavor. It was ok over all but the runny filling made it not very appealing plus not worth the trouble prepare. Everyone was so full after Christmas dinner and did not eat any of the pies so I do not have comments by others to write.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missqc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This didn't really turn out for me, but I think I know how I can fix it so it does. The sponge part was mostly good, but the bottom part was runny like other users had mentioned. I don't know that more time in the oven would have helped, because I had it in for another 10 minutes and I was about to burn the top part. The crust, since it was not previously baked, never cooked on the bottom. I am thinking if I would have baked the pie crust for about ten minutes and then poured the lemon mixture in, it would have helped the crust as well as finish baking the rest of the lemon stuff as well. Something that I will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I will probably make this recipe again with a few changes to see if it may resolve some of the not-so-great things about this very good pie. As many have stated, the pie does not thicken in the amount of time stated. I cooked for half an hour over stated time and it could have gone for another 15 minutes easily. I will probably add another egg to the mix next time, increase the amount of lemon to at least a half a cup and decrease the amount of sugar to 2/3 to 3/4 cup. I will probably also cook the pie shell to five to ten minutes before adding the filling. Good pie, but could make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States