Lemon Sponge Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This pie has become a true family favorite, and makes a wonderful dessert for company or Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntington Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Wow! This is excellent. Didn't know what to expect, but I wanted something lemony that wasn't Lemon Meringue, and this was perfect. Followed the recipe exactly, except I used a reduced fat pre-made graham cracker crust. With this substitute, the pie was practically guilt-free, and certainly worth every bite--YUM! Between three people, the pie was gone in less than 40 minutes! The pie crust wasn't a deep dish, so I had some filling left over--baked it in ramekins along w/ the pie in the same oven and for the same amount of time. UPDATE: Made this last night, only used 1 c. of sugar, and increased the lemon juice to 1/2 c.--I LOVE lemon, and this small change made it healthier and even tastier too! You can also make this with no crust, in a pie plate w/ some no-stick spray, or in little individual ramekins...the baking time and temp. is still the same. Without the crust, it's less than 150 calories per serving and has only 2 grams of fat, but still has a deliciously decadent taste:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is very good, and very easy to make. Be aware, though, that it does make alot of filling. I used a 10 inch deep dish pie plate, and still had a bit too much. I managed to get it all in, but it overflowed a bit. Normally that wouldn't be a problem, but even the little bit of smoke my oven produced managed to sink into the top 1/4 inch of the pie. lemon sponge pie should never have a smokey flavor. I took off the top little bit and it was then fabulous. I'll just put a little less in next time,and voila fab pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I made this pie exactly as written and used a large pie plate. It turned out perfect - a layer of custard on the bottom and sponge on the top, the way a lemon sponge pie should be! Thanks, Kitty for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This pie is great....strong lemon flavor. I used zest and juice of 3 lemons. My family loved it as much as the Amish lemon sponge pie we buy on our trips to Lancaster County, pa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I will probably make this recipe again with a few changes to see if it may resolve some of the not-so-great things about this very good pie. As many have stated, the pie does not thicken in the amount of time stated. I cooked for half an hour over stated time and it could have gone for another 15 minutes easily. I will probably add another egg to the mix next time, increase the amount of lemon to at least a half a cup and decrease the amount of sugar to 2/3 to 3/4 cup. I will probably also cook the pie shell to five to ten minutes before adding the filling. Good pie, but could make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This didn't really turn out for me, but I think I know how I can fix it so it does. The sponge part was mostly good, but the bottom part was runny like other users had mentioned. I don't know that more time in the oven would have helped, because I had it in for another 10 minutes and I was about to burn the top part. The crust, since it was not previously baked, never cooked on the bottom. I am thinking if I would have baked the pie crust for about ten minutes and then poured the lemon mixture in, it would have helped the crust as well as finish baking the rest of the lemon stuff as well. Something that I will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I agree with some of the reviews the filling in the pie was runny. There was not enough of the sponge part. My pie crust did not get totally baked, I believe because of the low oven temp. and the wet filling. If I made it again I would pre-bake the crust for 10 to 12 minutes. It did have excellent lemon flavor. It was ok over all but the runny filling made it not very appealing plus not worth the trouble prepare. Everyone was so full after Christmas dinner and did not eat any of the pies so I do not have comments by others to write.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missqc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is delicious. As one person said it does take time to prepare but it is wonderful. My filling was a little runny, maybe I should have baked it an extra 5 mins. I made it just as the recipe called for. Even with my soft filling it was still delicious. My husband loves lemon and he said it was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I made this pie for my boyfriend and he really liked the flavor and the texture of the "custard". He wasn't crazy about the "sponge" part. I don't eat lemon stuff but I thought it was really flavorful. I used Rice Milk instead of regular milk and I only put in a little bit over a cup of sugar. No one noticed or thought anything tasted different. Good recipe, I will probably make it again and use it just as custard. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States