Lemon Sponge Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Fabulous! I used 1 cup 2% milk, 1/2C splenda with 1/2 cup reg sugar. Upped lemon juice to 1/2C as I like strong lemon taste. Prebaked pie crust for 7 minutes @350 (docked the heck out of it first) and glad I took that advice from other reviewers. I would also use a deep dish 10" crust if possible as this make plenty of filling. Mine turned out with a 1/2 layer of custard and 1/2 light fluffy sponge on top. I get requests for recipe often. With minor tweaking, this was the best lemon pie & I make it often. Not much work either in my opinion. I topped with homemade whipped cream flavored with a bit of the zest and 1/4 tsp of lemon extract - SO GOOD! *Based on any negative reviews, I wonder if high altitude has something to do with that? Baking has to be altered at higher altitudes - just a thought. Note: I've made this numerous times using above measurments. Turns out perfect every time but I am near sea level for baking. Try this one. I'm glad I did even tho I had no clue what the heck 'sponge' pie was all about :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I made this pie after searching out a recipe for a Lemon Sponge Pie and took it to work today and it was called a bangin' dessert. Definatly a keeper and I felt bad I did not have a blueberry syrup for it but it did not need it at all!!!! I had baked it for 5 min. longer and it was perfect. I followed the directions exactly. I would not change a thing. It is a nice change from Lemon Meringue Pie. I am making it again next week and can't wait. Thank you Kitty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
fairly easy to make and RAVE reviews at Easter gathering. I gre up near the Amish in Lancaster County, so this brought many childhood memories back with one bite. Everyone loved it at the dinner party and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Great pie made stupendous by the addition of whipped cream on top! Excellent flavor and texture! I made the pie exactly according to directions and had no problems with it being runny or needing more cooking time. (You folks who have had these problems may want to check your oven temp. When my oven was running low, not everything, but certain temperature sensitive, recipes were coming out under-cooked) I listened to the reviewers who said that the filling over-flowed a 9"deep dish crust, so I pressed my store-bought 9" deep dish crust into a 8" square pan (didn't have a 10"round pie pan.) This works fine if the crust stops 1/2" to 3/4" from the top of the pan. The filling fit with ease using this method. I still cut the pie into wedges so the proper proportion of filling to pie would be maintained. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Turned out perfect the first time! This is a great and easy receipe. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This pie has become a true family favorite, and makes a wonderful dessert for company or Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntington Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Wow! This is excellent. Didn't know what to expect, but I wanted something lemony that wasn't Lemon Meringue, and this was perfect. Followed the recipe exactly, except I used a reduced fat pre-made graham cracker crust. With this substitute, the pie was practically guilt-free, and certainly worth every bite--YUM! Between three people, the pie was gone in less than 40 minutes! The pie crust wasn't a deep dish, so I had some filling left over--baked it in ramekins along w/ the pie in the same oven and for the same amount of time. UPDATE: Made this last night, only used 1 c. of sugar, and increased the lemon juice to 1/2 c.--I LOVE lemon, and this small change made it healthier and even tastier too! You can also make this with no crust, in a pie plate w/ some no-stick spray, or in little individual ramekins...the baking time and temp. is still the same. Without the crust, it's less than 150 calories per serving and has only 2 grams of fat, but still has a deliciously decadent taste:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is very good, and very easy to make. Be aware, though, that it does make alot of filling. I used a 10 inch deep dish pie plate, and still had a bit too much. I managed to get it all in, but it overflowed a bit. Normally that wouldn't be a problem, but even the little bit of smoke my oven produced managed to sink into the top 1/4 inch of the pie. lemon sponge pie should never have a smokey flavor. I took off the top little bit and it was then fabulous. I'll just put a little less in next time,and voila fab pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I made this pie exactly as written and used a large pie plate. It turned out perfect - a layer of custard on the bottom and sponge on the top, the way a lemon sponge pie should be! Thanks, Kitty for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This pie is great....strong lemon flavor. I used zest and juice of 3 lemons. My family loved it as much as the Amish lemon sponge pie we buy on our trips to Lancaster County, pa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States