Lemon Sponge Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Sooo good! This recipe makes enough for a deep dish pie crust- I only had a regular pie crust so had some left over. Fabulous recipe- very spring/ summery! Wouldn't change a thing- Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by Gail Cobile
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Ever find a recipe that just made you giggle it turned out so well? This one did it for me. Looking for some sort of dessert and found that I had all the ingredients on hand to make this one. I added a photo of it straight out of the oven and another when DH cut into it before it had completely cooled. It was barely warm. The consistency is that of a sponge/custard pie. Very pleasing on the palate and the lemon flavor was just right. All I did was follow instructions...and smile... a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Oh my, so good! I made it for an office meeting, and even someone who doesn't like lemon told me that she liked it! I served it with whipped topping and, as suggested, a blueberry sauce (actually the blueberry breakfast sauce recipe from this site). I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this according to the recipe, and it turned out mushy and soggy. The texture was a turn off. It is cool the way the layers separated, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was delicious! The only issue I had was the bottom and the lower sides of the crust did not get done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was a hit with friends that I served it too. I topped it with strawberries (macertated with lots of grand marnier) when I served it. The only problem was beating the egg whites took FOREVER but when I googled afterwards to find why it had taken so long, I read that you should not use fresh eggs (which I did)--a few days old are better for egg white beating and that you should also bring the egg whites to room temperature before beating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LINDA REALE
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is a recipe my dad gave me this week that my great grandmother used to make. The only difference is her recipe only called for two eggs & egg yokes and 1 cup of sugar, so if you don't have enough eggs, don't fret, it works with just two!! I made it with only two eggs and used an extra deep pie shell which I really didn't need to do. Next time I'll try it with four eggs. It really is a delicious pie and very very easy to make. I couldn't believe it used so few ingredients and turned out so nice. It looks very liquidy when you pour it into the shell, but it sets nicely as it cooks. I can see where it gets the name "Lemon Sponge Pie" as it is deliciously lemony tasting, custardy on the bottom and very spongey on top. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA REALE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Fabulous! I used 1 cup 2% milk, 1/2C splenda with 1/2 cup reg sugar. Upped lemon juice to 1/2C as I like strong lemon taste. Prebaked pie crust for 7 minutes @350 (docked the heck out of it first) and glad I took that advice from other reviewers. I would also use a deep dish 10" crust if possible as this make plenty of filling. Mine turned out with a 1/2 layer of custard and 1/2 light fluffy sponge on top. I get requests for recipe often. With minor tweaking, this was the best lemon pie & I make it often. Not much work either in my opinion. I topped with homemade whipped cream flavored with a bit of the zest and 1/4 tsp of lemon extract - SO GOOD! *Based on any negative reviews, I wonder if high altitude has something to do with that? Baking has to be altered at higher altitudes - just a thought. Note: I've made this numerous times using above measurments. Turns out perfect every time but I am near sea level for baking. Try this one. I'm glad I did even tho I had no clue what the heck 'sponge' pie was all about :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I made this pie after searching out a recipe for a Lemon Sponge Pie and took it to work today and it was called a bangin' dessert. Definatly a keeper and I felt bad I did not have a blueberry syrup for it but it did not need it at all!!!! I had baked it for 5 min. longer and it was perfect. I followed the directions exactly. I would not change a thing. It is a nice change from Lemon Meringue Pie. I am making it again next week and can't wait. Thank you Kitty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
fairly easy to make and RAVE reviews at Easter gathering. I gre up near the Amish in Lancaster County, so this brought many childhood memories back with one bite. Everyone loved it at the dinner party and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States