Lemon Sponge Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This is the way to go if you like lemon pie but don't like meringue. I followed the recipe exactly and had about 1 cup left over after filling my 9 inch crust. I baked the extra in a custard cup for about 30 minutes. I was a little concerned about the slightly curdled texture when tasting the extra, but I must have overbaked it as the actual pie was creamy and delicious! I will be making this for years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made this recipe for a fundraiser dinner were we serve pies for desert. I made a blueberry topping for it. I have to say that it came out much better than I thought. Smooth & creamy lots of lemon flavor,I will certainly make this again. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Hero, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very moist and very easy to make. Use nonfat milk to cut calories. You can also use custard cups if you don't have a pie shell available. Top with whipped cream. Nice pie to bring to your new neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious, light and fluffy. Much better use of the egg whites than the usual meringue topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I baked this pie yesterday. My family did not care for it at all. I baked it just like the instructions said. I did not change a thing. We thought it was too sweet and not enough lemon flavor. I will stick to my lemon meringue recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paniece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was delicious, and I even messed up a few times. First of all, I didn't have lemon zest, so I just used not quite a tablespoon of lemon extract instead, which worked fine. But I'm not sure I creamed the butter and sugar together correctly, and I definitely messed up the egg whites, which started to collapse on me a bit, so I just dumped them into the mixture anyway and hoped for the best. And it turned out great. I do think, however, that some people might want to pre-bake the crust to make it less soggy; I baked mine for about 7 minutes and next time I'll probably let it bake a few minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
very good! i'm 13 and i made this. it took me a looooooooong time but that's becus i go a littl youlk in my egg whites thee first time and after beating them for 30 minutes looked up what was wrong and found out that even a tiny bit of egg yolk can ruin it. i started over and then it took me only like 5 minutes to get peaks. great recepe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Sooo good! This recipe makes enough for a deep dish pie crust- I only had a regular pie crust so had some left over. Fabulous recipe- very spring/ summery! Wouldn't change a thing- Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by Gail Cobile
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Ever find a recipe that just made you giggle it turned out so well? This one did it for me. Looking for some sort of dessert and found that I had all the ingredients on hand to make this one. I added a photo of it straight out of the oven and another when DH cut into it before it had completely cooled. It was barely warm. The consistency is that of a sponge/custard pie. Very pleasing on the palate and the lemon flavor was just right. All I did was follow instructions...and smile... a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Oh my, so good! I made it for an office meeting, and even someone who doesn't like lemon told me that she liked it! I served it with whipped topping and, as suggested, a blueberry sauce (actually the blueberry breakfast sauce recipe from this site). I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States