Lemon Sponge Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I'm not a big fan of lemon sponge pie and my wife is nervous about making pies but she tried this recipe and all I can say is WOW! This was absolutely delicious. It made me re-think lemon sponge pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Dean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dawn
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Those who are thinking you want to toast the pie crust before baking are on the right track in my opinion. I put the crust in for about 10 minutes on medium heat as the oven heats up. You have to prick the crust in several places at the top tho or you get huge bubbles. Once you fill the pie I keep it low in the oven so the pie crust top doesn't get burned by the end of baking time. I also take it out of the oven before it says you are supposed to, once it gets to the brown color you see in the pics. If you like more sponge go ahead and hold out for done-ness close to the center but if you shake it and it's loose in the center and it looks done and it's been at least 30 minutes on the lower heat, I take it out and let it set as it cools. I like more of the pudding-y part myself so if it's not firm I'm good with it. I also make about 4 of these at a time because I tend to ruin at least one and get the hang of it again every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
My husband is the pie baker in our house but one day I decided to try this pie. It was the best lemon sponge pie we ever tasted and I am now the "expert" on how to make lemon sponge pies. It is very easy but you have to be careful not to overbeat the egg whites. I did that one time and they were very difficult to fold in properly. The pie still tasted great but there were a few small lumps of egg white visible which made it not look as nice as it normally looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I didn't have my own recipe with me on holidays so I tried this. It was pretty good but I would eliminate the flour. My original recipe doesn't call for flour and I found it made the bottom layer of pie a little gummy. But the taste is good. Also always use fresh squeezed lemon juice for a better flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cobourger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HisPixie
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Tasty tasty!! Thank you for posting! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisPixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Delicious! I used a whole-wheat frozen pie crust from Whole Foods and poured the filling right into the frozen shell before sticking in the oven. Light, tangy, sweet, EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is one of the best pies I have ever made or even eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamacook
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I used Meyer Lemons as I have a tree in the back yard. It was very good. I am not a great pastry crust maker, but used the Basic Flakey Crust recipe and it turned out pretty good. Next time I will use regular lemons as I think it will make it more lemony. My family loved this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This is the way to go if you like lemon pie but don't like meringue. I followed the recipe exactly and had about 1 cup left over after filling my 9 inch crust. I baked the extra in a custard cup for about 30 minutes. I was a little concerned about the slightly curdled texture when tasting the extra, but I must have overbaked it as the actual pie was creamy and delicious! I will be making this for years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made this recipe for a fundraiser dinner were we serve pies for desert. I made a blueberry topping for it. I have to say that it came out much better than I thought. Smooth & creamy lots of lemon flavor,I will certainly make this again. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Hero, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States