Lemon Sponge Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Taste was good, texture was dense and firm and spongey- the kind of cake you could pick up with your hands easily. I wish it was more light, like the other reviews said. I didn't have lemon extract but used lemon juice, which was hardly noticeable (I also used vanilla extract). It took more than 45 minutes to cook through- at 30 minutes it was wet and jiggly all the way through the center (9" baking pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
We found it chewy and rather tasteless. I followed some others advice and baked it in a 8" square pan for 30 minutes and the 30 minutes was more than enough time. Sadly, this was a bomb of a recipe as I was lookiing for an easy and delicious sponge cake recipe but this definitely wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This cake turned out great. It was a little chewy, but that was to be expected because of the lack of butter. I am using this cake for a wedding cake, it is going to be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This turned out fantastic. I decided for this recipe because it doesn't use butter and it was so tasty and light. I topped it with meringue icing and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This turned out quite good.I only cooked it for 35 minutes and it perfect then.I can imagine what it would have been like if I kept it in for the time stated in the recipe.Also the recipe never said what size of pan to use so I used my 8" square,it was the right size.The only thing I didn't like about this is that it stuck to the pan,next time I'll grease and flour the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cajoeen
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very good recipe!! The cake is moist and looked great (i used 4 eggs) although a bit too sweet for my taste (maybe coz i didn't use the lemon juice - i used raspberry extract instead, so there's no sourness to balance the sugar). And i did separate the whites and the yolk like the other reviewer said and i greased the pan with butter. It worked wonders..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cajoeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I found the length of time in the oven way too long. I could see the cake was dried out when I pulled it out. I think I'd try 30-35 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
It was easy to make and I enjoyed the flavour. Mine was overdone at 55 minutes so next time I'll bake it for 45 minutes. It's terrific with vanilla ice cream and the Supreme Strawberry Sauce on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I made a plain sponge using vanilla instead, tasted quite normal to me. Nice coloring though, was a bit dense, so adding another egg or beating it a little longer should help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacqueline
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This is the first sponge cake I have cooked that has not been a packet mix. It was easy and turned out great, nice and light, moist and tasted fantastic. I sliced it in half and served it with cream and jam in the middle I will be cooking more of my own cakes in future, as it is not as difficult or time comsuming as I imagined. The only thing I did differently with this recipe was I beat the egg yolks and white separately and folded into mixture. Thankyou Carol for inspiring the home baker in me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States