Lemon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MAGGIE986
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I love this lemon soup recipe. I've made it a few times, and never had Orzo pasta on hand. Instead, I substituted rice. (I've used brown rice and jasmine rice -- both are good.) If you're substituting rice, I recommend cooking it first since it takes a while. Then, heat your broth, add the rice, and then add the lemon/egg mixture. Other substitutions: I've used veggie broth and "no chicken" broth to make this a vegetarian recipe. I also really like lemon, so I add the juice of 2 lemons instead of one. This is a relatively uncommon soup, but if you like lemon, I highly recommend trying it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Great flavor!! I was in a pinch since my hubby was on his way home and NOTHING was even remotely close to being ready for dinner. I looked up this recipe and was very pleased with the results minus the foamy texture. I substituted lemon juice for the fresh lemon and it was still great. I took it off of the stove about 2 minutes after the egg/lemon mixture was added. Rather than serving it immediately as the directions state I let it sit for about 10 minutes and stirred it a couple of times. That decreased the foamy texture so that the rich flavor came through without all of the "fluff". I also added soy chicken strips which I cooked first then added into the soup. My husband LOVED it and is taking the leftovers to work for lunch. I will definitely make this again, even if I'm not in a rush!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gpearl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This was 'frothier' than I was expecting, and quite tart. I would make it again, but whip the egg whites less, and use less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Love this recipe! Its a family favorite that Ive made for years. Just a tip, to add some more flavor I garnish with fresh chopped parsley and love the little burst of flavor it gives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I have made this multiple times but I don't think it really qualifies as 'soup', especially when I ate the leftovers which had dried out enough to just be a delicious pasta. I've never had the energy to properly whip the whites but I do what I can by hand and have never had a problem with any frothiness. I highly suggest adding rosemary, it complements the soup perfectly. I also added one carrot, shredded which doesn't change the flavor much but gives the soup a wonderful, warm color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Good recipe. I didn't whip the eggs at all, or separate the whites. It worked fine! I recommend letting the soup sit for a bit before serving so that the orzo can fully puff up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I really want to give this 5 stars for the taste. I gave it 4 because my entire family was put off by the frothy texture. I put that aside and ate 3 bowls. The second day the froth was for the most gone, and it had thinkened considerably and I really loved it that way. Perhaps then I could get my family to eat it that way. Thanks for a great flavored soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I gave this 5 stars because it's a great start. I made this and when I tested it, I liked it but I thought I could add to it. I started with adding cooked rice as some other reviewers did. I then added a few Tbs of butter,another lemon, cooked shredded chicken, and fresh spinach that I just tore apart and cooked into the soup. If you don't like the froth then just let the soup sit on low for a while and a lot of the froth will go away, I liked it both ways. This soup can be as simple or as complicated as you wish. This will be a great addition to my recipe box! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
i will have to admit, i wasn't sure about this recipe, but i was so curious to try it out. well, i was a bit suprised....i absolutely love it! i will definitely make this again and will be in my regular rotation! the lemon was not too strong and just perfect to make it feel like a nice refreshing light soup...not to mention this soup was incredibly easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Delicious and simple, but I would definitely say serve immediately because it boils down otherwise. And make sure the egg whites are really true stiff peaks; it adds the texture to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States