Lemon Snowdrops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I did what another commenter said and used fresh lemon juice and an extra tsp. of zest then rolled 1/4 inch balls and pressed in the center with my thumb. I also used an extra tblsp. of corn starch. The best lemon cookie I have ever had in my life!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
To be clear, I give the actual recipe 5 stars...the accompanying directions...not so much. I followed the ingredients to a 'T' but was careful about the directions. As others have said, whatever shape you put the cookies in to bake is the same they'll come out of the oven- they're not like chocolate chip or oatmeal cookies that you drop onto the sheet and they melt into circles as they bake. I mixed up the cookie ingredients, then rolled the dough into a log about an inch and a half wide and about 15 inches long, wrapped that in plastic wrap, and stuck it in the freezer for about half an hour. Once it came out, I sliced it somewhere between 1/4 and 1/8 inch thick then arranged those circles on the cookie sheet to bake. I haven't tried it yet, but the dough seemed like it would be soft enough for a cookie press as an alternative. Also, if you're looking for softer cookies (as in, not cracker crumbs) don't be worried. I took my cookies out of the oven as soon as I saw the first hint of browning (about 9 minutes)and was a little worried once they cooled that they were going to be crumbly and crunchy. Once I added the filling, rolled them in powdered sugar, and boxed them up for the night, they really softened into wonderful yummy little sandwiches. Definitely better after they had sat for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These cookies wound up tasting delicious but I had to add quite a bit of water to the dough because it was very dry and crumbly. I only used them as a single cookie which I topped with confectioners sugar and lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
The cook recipes was bland, not nearly enough lemon flavor. I recommend chilling the dough before baking for better shaping. Filling was like a goo, but flavorful. Confectioners sugar didn't hold to the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawson247

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These are just delightful! A little on the labor intensive side, BUT I made them as a birthday gift for a lemon lover, who I know will really apprciate them. My husband and I tasted the spoils before we shipped them off and were very impressed. The first batch I made had a few of the cookies thin and crumbly around the outside edge, which makes them harder to work with. With the second batch I rolled very small balls, layed them on the sheet, then used my thumb to put a small valley in each one. This made them small enough to be able to pop them into your in one bite, keeping the confectioners sugar off your shirt and in your mouth, LOL. The cookie dough itself is a little crumbly at first, but it warms in your hand as you roll it, so it holds together quite well. For the filling, I juiced 3 lemons and replaced some of the water with it. I also added 3 large pieces of rind to the mix, which added wonderful depth of flavor, fishing them out after the mixture thickened. I also added a bit of California Lemon Peel, and a touch more corn starch than called for, as I like my filling fairly thick. I omitted the food coloring, as you can't see the filling once you roll them in confectioner's sugar. We are having a summer party this year, and these will definitely be on the menu! Served with finger sandwiches, cold salads, lemonade and ice cream, they will not only look very pretty on the table, but will also round out the blend of flavors nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
i used a cookie scooper and a measuring cup to shape these, which saved time and gave me just 14 little sandwiches, and filling to spare. the cookies were not soft, and the filling was a strange texture, like thick transparent goop, nothing like a store sandwich cookie. the flavor was not bad, but not good enough to cover the texture conflict between the crunch and goo. it was really too much butter fat for me to enjoy the lemon. I prefer a light fluffy pairing with lemon, like the lemon blueberry scones on this site, which was SO much better than these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiGGoNZo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
The flavor and idea of these are great, but the recipe really needs to be more specific about the size. I made one inch balls which I flattened but they still came out thick. However I don't know if it's worth it to make them smaller because they were kind of messy to fill. I will say that I was pleasantly surprised at how the filling gelled and did not drip out when I took a bite. They hold up nicely so far, though I can't imagine trying to transport them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Cookies were delicious and easy to make(only five ingredients). The only changes I made was adding 1 cup of confectioners' sugar (we like more sweet cookies) and 2 teaspoons of lemon flavor(I want more lemony flavor). I roll them into 1 inch ball and press them down in the cookie sheet( not completely flatten). I don't make sandwiches, I just dust them with sifted confectioners' sugar, and were simply delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These were really easy and fun to make. We used an ice cream scoop and the cookies came out way to big. After putting them together they looked like baseballs. Next time I will use a smaller spoon. They still tasted really good though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Too labor intensive. Filling isn't thick and shoots out the side when you take a bite. Definitely not lemony enough and won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States