Lemon Slice - No Cooking Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Well..... after reading all the reviews I thought, I'd better stick to the recipe so its not too wet. I used a med to lge lemon and put the finished product in the freezer to set fast. It was delicious, very lemony (probably due to the lovely lemon I used). When I went to do this review, I realised I'd left out the coconut!! So it works well without the coconut also. Next time I will remember to add it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Yummy and very easy to make! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is the dessert I never knew I was always craving. Sweet, lemony, buttery, EASY. I think I'm in love. Followed the recipe exactly, but threw the pan in the freezer to speed up the setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Very tasty! Drizzled the top with condensed milk. Will make again and I think I'll try the lime and ginger as was suggested by another reviewer. Might try a tad less butter next time (1/3 c).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKPIGG33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This recipe set perfectly and tasted great, even though I over-zested my lemon. After melting the butter and condensed milk I took the pot off the heat and mixed in the rest of the ingredients to make sure they didn't get too soft. I also greased the dish I pressed the mixture into with margarine, just to make sure the squares would come out clean when I cut them. If you are using smaller lemons perhaps it is better to use 2 instead of one - I used a large one and juiced it very well so the taste of lemon was excellent. To add to the sweetness (I have a sweet tooth)I drizzled the squares with some of the leftover condensed milk. It adds to the look of the dish as well. Overall, a satisfying recipe and I will probably make it again if I need to use up a lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
These came out a little moist but I think maybe they're supposed to be that way. After zesting my lemon, I heat it up before squeezing the juice out, get more juice that way, might be why I was a little moist but the bars were fantastic. Next time will try adding a few extra cookies to "dry" it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mazock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deckerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I followed the recipe and it wasn't lemony at all, so the next time I added the juice of 4 lemons - much better! It didn't set (ate it with a spoon) but that's probably my fault for adding so much juice. I've also made this with ginger cookies and limes and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
These bars do have a gooey kind of texture but the taste is wonderful. Will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
I couldn't get these to set up. After 24 hours in the fridge, they've got the consistency of fudge. Tastes good tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States