Lemon Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Sorry to say my notes on this recipe is - "a mess and a total waste of ingredients." It's extremely rare that I get bad results from recipes on this site - but this one was memorably BAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
YUCK. I followed the directions exactly, with extremely poor results. Yield was way off -- I only got 12 small cookies instead of 20 2-inch ones. Baking time was off too, and they probably should have baked at 325 instead of 375...I checked them after 14 min. and the bottoms were burnt (recipe recommended 20 to 25 min.) After scraping off the burnt bottoms, the texture and taste were still nasty -- way too floury and bready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
These cookies turned out lovely! I doubled the recipe and used shaped cookie cutters to cut them out. I also made lemon icing for them with water, lemon juice, and powdered sugar. Yum! For me, the baking time was less than what the recipe suggested... about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
USED HEALTHIER OPTIONS: This recipe still turned out amazing! I used lemon juice instead of lemon extract, lite brown sugar, and whole wheat flour for a healthier cookie and they still recieved rave reviews from the toughest critics: my 8 and 6 yr old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolcam
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
These are absolutely delicious and easy to make. I put part of the dough into a decorating bag, and using a large cake decorator tip, made lemon shortbread straws and decorative small cookies also. From my families response, I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I loved these! Super refreshing and light. I used fresh lemon juice instead of extract and thought it gave it a nice tart flavor. I cut mine into fingers instead of using cutters. I did find the dough pretty sticky, but flour cured it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
These are delicious! I did use real lemon juice vs. extract. They are buttery, rich and with the lemon juice & zest really have a extra special fresh taste to them! I just finished a batch to send to a friend for his birthday, but have decided I need to make some for home! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
These cookies were great after a few minor tweaks... I added just a touch more vanilla and then shook the cookies in a bag with about 1/4 cup powdered sugar to coat them. The powdered sugar coating was the perfect touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
I made this recipe and it so good I can hardly wait to do it again! I loved this recipe and so did my family too! Easy making them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These didn't turn out as I had expected - pretty disappointing, actually. The first problem is that the recipe's serving size is way off, as a few other reviewers have mentioned. I got twelve two inch cookies. I think this recipe would be good as a starting point, but it's definitely not quite right. There is far too much butter compared to other ingredients and not enough flavoring elements; the cookies ended up tasting like butter with a touch of lemon. If I were to do this over again, I would probably add lemon juice and maybe more lemon zest, maybe even a little more salt to bring out the sweetness. In addition, when I mixed the flour in, I was left with a pile of crumbs rather than dough, and I had to work the crumbs by hand for several minutes until it was even able to be rolled out. I wonder if the cookies would benefit from the addition of extra liquid, again that could be where some lemon juice might improve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foursixquebec

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States