Lemon Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These didn't turn out as I had expected - pretty disappointing, actually. The first problem is that the recipe's serving size is way off, as a few other reviewers have mentioned. I got twelve two inch cookies. I think this recipe would be good as a starting point, but it's definitely not quite right. There is far too much butter compared to other ingredients and not enough flavoring elements; the cookies ended up tasting like butter with a touch of lemon. If I were to do this over again, I would probably add lemon juice and maybe more lemon zest, maybe even a little more salt to bring out the sweetness. In addition, when I mixed the flour in, I was left with a pile of crumbs rather than dough, and I had to work the crumbs by hand for several minutes until it was even able to be rolled out. I wonder if the cookies would benefit from the addition of extra liquid, again that could be where some lemon juice might improve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Lawnicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I loved these! Super refreshing and light. I used fresh lemon juice instead of extract and thought it gave it a nice tart flavor. I cut mine into fingers instead of using cutters. I did find the dough pretty sticky, but flour cured it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I followed the directions exactly. I put the cookies in for 15 minutes, and when I went in to check then halfway during that time the cookies had "oozed" into each other! I thought that maybe when the cooled they would be okay, like, thin and crispy or something. No, they were too greasy, they fell apart into tiny buttery crumbles. Don't know what went wrong. I should have listened to Nydiva's review...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
These are delicious! I did use real lemon juice vs. extract. They are buttery, rich and with the lemon juice & zest really have a extra special fresh taste to them! I just finished a batch to send to a friend for his birthday, but have decided I need to make some for home! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This would go good with tea. It had a nice texture & good lemony taste that comes on half way through. I pulled mine out of the oven right when they started to smell, after about 13 minutes; before they got brown. Overall a very nice cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I loved these cookies! They combined my two favorite kind of cookie. Who could ask for anything more? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I make this recipe at work(a bakery) all the time, its a favorite and hard to keep on stock. The only thing that I do differently is use a drizzle iceing to make them look pretty.Also I use Lemon oil instead of extract and only 1/2 the amount because its cheaper to make in large quanity. But overall its a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
USED HEALTHIER OPTIONS: This recipe still turned out amazing! I used lemon juice instead of lemon extract, lite brown sugar, and whole wheat flour for a healthier cookie and they still recieved rave reviews from the toughest critics: my 8 and 6 yr old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolcam
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This recipe was ok nothing great! My dough was very floury so I added a little honey. Baking time only took about 10 minutes too not 25 like the recipe says. I also sprinkled powdered sugar on top like suggested in the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I didn't have any lemons for the zest so I skipped out on it. But they tasted FANTASTIC! This recipe is a new favorite! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States