Lemon Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I followed the directions exactly. I put the cookies in for 15 minutes, and when I went in to check then halfway during that time the cookies had "oozed" into each other! I thought that maybe when the cooled they would be okay, like, thin and crispy or something. No, they were too greasy, they fell apart into tiny buttery crumbles. Don't know what went wrong. I should have listened to Nydiva's review...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
These are delicious! I did use real lemon juice vs. extract. They are buttery, rich and with the lemon juice & zest really have a extra special fresh taste to them! I just finished a batch to send to a friend for his birthday, but have decided I need to make some for home! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This would go good with tea. It had a nice texture & good lemony taste that comes on half way through. I pulled mine out of the oven right when they started to smell, after about 13 minutes; before they got brown. Overall a very nice cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I loved these cookies! They combined my two favorite kind of cookie. Who could ask for anything more? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I make this recipe at work(a bakery) all the time, its a favorite and hard to keep on stock. The only thing that I do differently is use a drizzle iceing to make them look pretty.Also I use Lemon oil instead of extract and only 1/2 the amount because its cheaper to make in large quanity. But overall its a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
USED HEALTHIER OPTIONS: This recipe still turned out amazing! I used lemon juice instead of lemon extract, lite brown sugar, and whole wheat flour for a healthier cookie and they still recieved rave reviews from the toughest critics: my 8 and 6 yr old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolcam
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This recipe was ok nothing great! My dough was very floury so I added a little honey. Baking time only took about 10 minutes too not 25 like the recipe says. I also sprinkled powdered sugar on top like suggested in the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I didn't have any lemons for the zest so I skipped out on it. But they tasted FANTASTIC! This recipe is a new favorite! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
i thought that this was an ok recipe. it was hard to zest 2t of lemon, considering i don't have a real zester, but a kind of grater. next, the time to bake is NOT 20-25 minutes. for me it was about 12 minutes. the recipe only makes about 20 cookies too. lastly, to make them a little more lemon-ee, i added a lemon frosting. i mixed powedered sugar, water, some of the lemon extract, and lemon juice, and spread it over the cooled shortbread cookie. the cookie tasted fine, but iw as expecting something a little different...that's why it only got three stars. with all the personal adjustments, then i would give it 5 stars. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Sorry to say my notes on this recipe is - "a mess and a total waste of ingredients." It's extremely rare that I get bad results from recipes on this site - but this one was memorably BAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States