Lemon Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Did not turn out well at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
The first tray was burned to a crisp at 15 minutes, the second I pulled out at 12 minutes still over done but edible. No one liked them. Second time around I cooked them with more lemon zest and sprinkled demera sugar on top. Still not a fan. I am a regular baker and usually have very good results, especially with recipes from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
These turned out pretty good! I just wanted something for the household to nibble on and didn't actually have all the ingredients. I didn't have lemon zest, so I used lemon juice and probably could've gone heavier on it. I also used butter flavored crisco instead of butter. I didn't have brown sugar either so I just added a little more sugar. I used a fork dipped in sugar and did a criss cross pattern on the top. I used a toaster oven with a baking function and they were done in 15 minutes. The batch only made 12 but everyone liked them. They had crispy edges and a chewy center. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I made a few changes: I substituted a 1/4 cup ground flax seeds for a 1/4 cup of flour. And I used whole wheat flour for some of the all purpose. I also didn't roll and cut them. I just used a spoon and made 1 inch balls of dough that melted into little round cookies. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I might make these again but I would try using fresh lemon zest, I used dried and I think that was a bad idea. Also they where much better after sifting powdered suger on top than they wher plain. This recipe only made a few maybe 8-10 if you make them 1/4 in. Thick. They are perfect with tea or coffee. B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I made these recently. I substituted crushed Lemon head candy for the zest. The result was a light delicate cookie. The lemon flavor was mostly subtle but there were pockets of more intense lemon flavor through out. I agree with some of the reviews concerning portion size. I didn't have any of the problems others say they had with the dough. My dough was very soft that made it somewhat difficult to move after they were rolled out. This can easily be fixed with refrigeration. I will definitely make these again though I will play around some more with the lemon content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Millington, Maryland, USA
Living In: East Point, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Love the flavor of these, lemony & not too sweet. They were the first cookies my adult daug had ever made from scratch & they were so easy that she was encouraged to try more baking in the future. However, there were some problems with the recipe that experience helped me to help her not to ruin the cookies. First, baking time is seriously off. She baked them exactly 9 mins & they were perfect. A double recipe rolled a little less than 1/4" thick yielded 29 2" cookies. Also, let them cool a little more than 2 mins before moving if you want perfect, unbroken cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I loved these buttery little, melt in your mouth lemon cookies. The recipe must make 20 teeny tiny cookies..you will want to double of triple this recipe. The smaller your cookies the shorter your cooking time. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These were really good. I reduced butter by half cup, worried about other reviewers' comments of too greasy, and also reduced flour by half cup. Used juice and zest from two good-sized lemons in place of extract. Also doubled to 40 serving size because wanted to be sure to have enough cookies. Don't like the rolling out...takes too much time, so I used a cookie press and made little flower cookies. Got about 60 cookies. Baked at 325 for 10 minutes. Perfect! Thank you...and btw, mine were a bit tart, but I love them like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States