Lemon Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
YUCK. I followed the directions exactly, with extremely poor results. Yield was way off -- I only got 12 small cookies instead of 20 2-inch ones. Baking time was off too, and they probably should have baked at 325 instead of 375...I checked them after 14 min. and the bottoms were burnt (recipe recommended 20 to 25 min.) After scraping off the burnt bottoms, the texture and taste were still nasty -- way too floury and bready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
These are absolutely delicious and easy to make. I put part of the dough into a decorating bag, and using a large cake decorator tip, made lemon shortbread straws and decorative small cookies also. From my families response, I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
These cookies turned out lovely! I doubled the recipe and used shaped cookie cutters to cut them out. I also made lemon icing for them with water, lemon juice, and powdered sugar. Yum! For me, the baking time was less than what the recipe suggested... about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
I made this recipe and it so good I can hardly wait to do it again! I loved this recipe and so did my family too! Easy making them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Made this a few times already. Last Christmas I made these and gave away to friends at a party. My friend also made other kinds of very fancy Christmas cookies, but mine were gone before hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peerless

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I used a cookie press which worked well and these were very lemony, but still seemed bland as a cookie. Maybe with tea they would be nice, but all the butter made it seem like too much. I probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
The dough was much too soft to work with--it needed to be refrigerated before I rolled it out. I used my 2" cutter and only got about 16 cookies; perhaps I made them a little thicker than called for. They have an odd texture and are kind of bitter. Less lemon zest and more vanilla may have helped them out. I'm not sure I'll make them again but if I do I'll have to sweeten them up somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
These cookies were great after a few minor tweaks... I added just a touch more vanilla and then shook the cookies in a bag with about 1/4 cup powdered sugar to coat them. The powdered sugar coating was the perfect touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Sorry to say my notes on this recipe is - "a mess and a total waste of ingredients." It's extremely rare that I get bad results from recipes on this site - but this one was memorably BAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
i thought that this was an ok recipe. it was hard to zest 2t of lemon, considering i don't have a real zester, but a kind of grater. next, the time to bake is NOT 20-25 minutes. for me it was about 12 minutes. the recipe only makes about 20 cookies too. lastly, to make them a little more lemon-ee, i added a lemon frosting. i mixed powedered sugar, water, some of the lemon extract, and lemon juice, and spread it over the cooled shortbread cookie. the cookie tasted fine, but iw as expecting something a little different...that's why it only got three stars. with all the personal adjustments, then i would give it 5 stars. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States