Lemon Seafood Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I did not care for this recipe. I consider myself to be a more advanced cook so therefore when making the risotto I heated the broth/wine and added it by 1/2 cup measures as you're supposed to do when making risotto. So as a result, it takes much longer than the recipe states. The sourness of the wine/lemon juice completely overpowers the flavour of everything else (the seafood choices in this recipe are such delicate flavours!). I made this for my husband and mother and none of us cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I made some changes to the recipe but I used all of the flavors in the meal. I sauted the seafood on the side in olive oil and added a squeeze of lemon. I served the snow peas steamed on the side, and I used more chicken stock instead of wine in the recipe (only 1/2 cup of wine). I didn't put any lemon into the risotto since the wine had plenty of citrus flavors. Thanks for submitting this recipe. After a few changes we had a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
good and refreshing flavor. Hubby found it a little too sour, so next time I'll only use about half the lemon juice. Also didn't use scallop, which I think would've given it a more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is a wonderful, easy risotto. I only had cooked frozen shrimp on hand and, after thawing, I threw them in for the last few minutes to heat through. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly, and it was a big hit with my family. Not too lemony at all, as some reviewers thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was really good! I didn't follow the directions exactly with respect to the risotto technique, but instead followed the method I always use: after cooking the rice for a minute or two in the oil, add about 1/2 cup of wine. When that has been absorbed, add the chicken stock about 1/2 cup at a time, stirring frequently and adding the next 1/2 cup after the previous one has been mostly absorbed. (Note: The stirring is important because it releases the starches in the rice, which is what makes risotto so creamy without using any actual cream.) When the rice seemed like it was about 5 minutes away from being done, I added the peppers, scallops, etc. The name of this dish is a bit of a misnomer. The lemon added at the end makes a huge difference in brightening up the dish and I really loved it, but it does not taste lemony. Just a warning in case you are craving something with a real lemon zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dulce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Made a few modifications to this recipe. Skipped the leek, substituted asparagus for the snow peas. Used both lemon juice and lemon zest. Used fresh basil leaves instead of dried. Also added butter with the wine Turned out really creamy with an excellent tart flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This was delicious. Only problem - I followed the 2 serving amount and it was not enough for 2 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Love it! Used all scallops (no shrimp). Only because I had scallops left to use. Used peas but next time will definately make with asparagus. Added 1T butter at end. Mmmmm. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann-Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Just finished this easy to make dish, along with the rest of the wine. Pretty tasty. Not knock your socks off good, but definitely above average. I'm going to use asparagus next time and cut back slightly on the lemon. Calamari?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by john szulewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Wow, Kelcampbell was tough! I thought it came out pretty well. I used left over broth from a clambake, flavored with corn, sauage & potatoes (well-strained using cheesecloth), and I didn't have wine, so I used beer. It tasted great. It's certainly not like a traditional risotto, so be flexible. Keep stirring. I added the shrimp last, since it was already pre-cooked (like most shrimp nowadays), But it all worked just fine. My main tip would be to cook it long and slow after you've added the rice & broth. My total cooking time was more like 90 minutes. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States