Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
So good -- very, very easy to make and you don't need eggs. I wanted a strong lemon taste so I added lemon juice and extract, and they came out just perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
These scones are wonderful. i really liked the flovor of them and im def. making these in the future. [=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
My family loves this delicate scone for breakfast. They don't have a strong lemon flavor and are not overpowering. Hint: Make this recipe the night before and refrigerated the dough, then roll out and cut. Brush the tops with a little egg white, and sprinkle with a very course sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osoyoos, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Great recipe.... I didn't "sour" the milk (just used regular skim milk) and added a little lemon juice. I also added an additional teaspoon of grated lemon peel. Light and fluffy... very good! I will make this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Excellent, tender and full of lemon flavor. These make a great breakfast scone as well as tea scone. They go great with coffee too. I used buttermilk instead of sour milk, it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Excellent recipe! I doubled this recipe and baked it in a muffin pan to create lemon "biscuits" for strawberry shortcake, which took about 20 minutes @ 350 degrees. I also wanted a little more lemon flavor, so I added 1/4 cup of lemon juice and a 1/4 cup more sugar (1/8 cup of each if you're not doubling the recipe)...delicious! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HEIFERYUNG
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made these today and I must say..."yummy!". I did not have any lemon peel, so substituted 1tsp lemon juice (replacing 1tsp sour milk). This was a simple recipe and I really enjoyed making them. I'm glad I didn't double it because I would have eaten twice as many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
These were great! I want to make them again, soon. I brushed melted butter on top of the scones before I sprinkled demerera sugar on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
These turned out very tasty. I didn't have any lemons, so I made them with orange zest instead, and added a handful of dried cranberries. Everyone enjoyed them and I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cutchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were so good! Mine were a tad crumbly yet moist. My husband was extremely skeptical about these because every "stone" he had tried was "dry, hard, and tasteless." This recipe changed his mind ... well, at least when it comes to homemade scones. I added a touch more lemon zest (we like lemony things), 1 1/2 tablespoons of poppy seeds (for an interesting element) and sprinkled sugar in the raw on top. Turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davidica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States