Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Excellent recipe! I doubled this recipe and baked it in a muffin pan to create lemon "biscuits" for strawberry shortcake, which took about 20 minutes @ 350 degrees. I also wanted a little more lemon flavor, so I added 1/4 cup of lemon juice and a 1/4 cup more sugar (1/8 cup of each if you're not doubling the recipe)...delicious! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
So good -- very, very easy to make and you don't need eggs. I wanted a strong lemon taste so I added lemon juice and extract, and they came out just perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Great recipe.... I didn't "sour" the milk (just used regular skim milk) and added a little lemon juice. I also added an additional teaspoon of grated lemon peel. Light and fluffy... very good! I will make this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
These scones have a wonderful texture and taste, I will definitely make again. I made a few changes- I had buttermilk that I needed to use up, so I used it in place of the sour milk. I increased the sugar slightly to 1/3 cup and as others suggested, added 1 Tbsp. of lemon juice for a stronger lemon flavor. Lastly, I used a lemon glaze from another recipe after baking, combining 1 Tbsp. lemon juice, 1/2 tsp. of lemon peel and 1/2 c. confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
My family loves this delicate scone for breakfast. They don't have a strong lemon flavor and are not overpowering. Hint: Make this recipe the night before and refrigerated the dough, then roll out and cut. Brush the tops with a little egg white, and sprinkle with a very course sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osoyoos, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
these scones were great!! I didn't sour the milk (didn't have vinegar) I added a little bit of plain yogurt to some milk... Since I also added a lemon glaze to the top instead of sugar... GREAT RECIPE!.. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HEIFERYUNG
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made these today and I must say..."yummy!". I did not have any lemon peel, so substituted 1tsp lemon juice (replacing 1tsp sour milk). This was a simple recipe and I really enjoyed making them. I'm glad I didn't double it because I would have eaten twice as many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I thought these scones were much too biscuit like--they weren't buttery and crumbly but more flaky--and I didn't think the lemon flavor stood out that much at all, even after trying a lemon glaze--I added poppy seeds too and that worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
These turned out pretty well and did have a light, delicate lemon taste. I pat the dough into a circle slightly smaller than recommended and cut it into eight scones. I added a little fresh lemon juice to the batter as well as to the top of dough before I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Excellent, tender and full of lemon flavor. These make a great breakfast scone as well as tea scone. They go great with coffee too. I used buttermilk instead of sour milk, it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States