Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I made these for a brunch I recently attended. They were a huge hit! I used buttermilk instead of sour milk. I also added a little lemon juice. I brushed some more lemon juice over the top before sprinkling with sugar. I served them with butter mixed with lemon juice and confectioners sugar. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I switched the all-purpose flour for whole wheat, and I added frozen blueberries. They came out flaky, buttery and delicious. Usually I find scones too floury or acidic, and these were exactly what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Made the recipe as printed except I used the zest of one whole lemon. Dough was a little dry to work with, but finished product had a great flavor. I used the juice from the lemon to mix with confectioners sugar and drizzled that over the scones. DELICIOUS! Will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Having grown up around some wonderful scones, these scones, as an earlier reviewer mentioned, are definetely more like biscuits. Very soft and moist on the inside, not crumbly. As other reviewers suggested, I added poppy seeds and lemon juice to sour the milk. It could still use more lemon flavor. Next time I'll just convert my other tried and true scone recipe (search Cherry Chip Scones at Taste of Home) to include lemon flavoring. A bit disappointing but GREAT if you expect more of a biscuit or muffin-like result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Great for breakfast! I did wish I had put more lemon zest or something else to enhance the lemon flavor. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
these scones were great!! I didn't sour the milk (didn't have vinegar) I added a little bit of plain yogurt to some milk... Since I also added a lemon glaze to the top instead of sugar... GREAT RECIPE!.. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
These turned out really nice. I soured my milk with lemon juice instead of vinegar to add more lemon flavor and increased the lemon zest (used the zest of 1 whole lemon). The mister had them with strawberries, blueberries, and whipped cream - and pronounced them 'Excellent.' Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I used whole grain flour. They would be much more delicious with regular flour or a 50/50 split of whole-grain and regular white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
These turned out very tasty. I didn't have any lemons, so I made them with orange zest instead, and added a handful of dried cranberries. Everyone enjoyed them and I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cutchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
So good -- very, very easy to make and you don't need eggs. I wanted a strong lemon taste so I added lemon juice and extract, and they came out just perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States