Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
the best, easiest scones in the world! one suggestion: don't be shy with the sour milk!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Delicious-I added 1 tablespoon of vanilla flavor (vanilla extract without the alcohol), sprinkled with vanilla sugar and toward the end of baking, brushed the top of the scones lightly with milk to give it a more golden color. So simple! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
So I doubled the recipe and once I started making the dough I realized that I didn't have any granulated sugar so I used 1/4 cup of powdered sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. We had a bunch of sour cream left over from a party a couple weeks ago so I used that instead of sour milk. I wanted strong lemon flavor so I added more lemon juice. Lastly, I added white chocolate chips and a hint of cinnamon and nutmeg. These came out more dense but absolutely delicious! They couldn't be more perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
These scones are sick!!!!! Only thing I do different is add maybe 4 tbsp of lemon zest and about 2 tbsp of lemon juice to make them more lemony! These are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This is dangerously EASY to make. Made it twice already using my Cuisinart food processor. I started by pulsing the dry ingredients to blend. Add and pulse in big chunks of cold butter until you have consistency of small crumbs. Then I added zest of WHOLE lemon. Pulse to mix. Drizzle in buttermilk (instead of sour milk) + 2 T of lemon juice. Process until the dough is balled in the processor. Transfer dough to floured surface and knead. Press dough onto baking sheet as directed. Brush buttermilk on surface. Sprinkle and gently press in turbidnado sugar.....next time, will add chopped nuts to dough and top with lemon drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This is the first time I have made scones and I love these! Easy recipe to follow. The only change I made was using lemon juice in the sour milk instead of vinager. I also made a glaze from lemon juice and powdered sugar for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Best scones ever! I used unsweetened almond milk instead of sour milk. I also added 1/8 c. lemon juice for a more lemony flavor. Topped it with 1 Tbsp. lemon juice mixed with 1/2 c. powdered sugar for a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These are amazing! I mixed powdered sugar and lemon juice and drizzled it on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Added zest from the entire lemon. Made the sour milk with lemon juice instead of vinegar. Made a yummy glaze of powered sugar and lemon juice. Very nice scone, 15 minute bake time was fine, as mine were separated in the baking sheet. Also added 2 tsp. poppy seeds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great! I wanted more lemon flavor so I added in a teaspoon of lemon juice. I brushed the tops of the scones with heavy cream and sprinkled on turbinado sugar. I used my Nordic Ware mini scone pan to bake them to make 16 mini scones. I enjoy these as a light snack with coffee. I baked mine at 425 degrees for about 18 minutes. These would be really good with a lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States