Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
These were great! I want to make them again, soon. I brushed melted butter on top of the scones before I sprinkled demerera sugar on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
You might call them cookies not scones. Good flavor but I prefer a traditional scone that you cut the butter in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HEIFERYUNG
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made these today and I must say..."yummy!". I did not have any lemon peel, so substituted 1tsp lemon juice (replacing 1tsp sour milk). This was a simple recipe and I really enjoyed making them. I'm glad I didn't double it because I would have eaten twice as many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Excellent recipe! I doubled this recipe and baked it in a muffin pan to create lemon "biscuits" for strawberry shortcake, which took about 20 minutes @ 350 degrees. I also wanted a little more lemon flavor, so I added 1/4 cup of lemon juice and a 1/4 cup more sugar (1/8 cup of each if you're not doubling the recipe)...delicious! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Excellent, tender and full of lemon flavor. These make a great breakfast scone as well as tea scone. They go great with coffee too. I used buttermilk instead of sour milk, it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Great recipe.... I didn't "sour" the milk (just used regular skim milk) and added a little lemon juice. I also added an additional teaspoon of grated lemon peel. Light and fluffy... very good! I will make this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
My family loves this delicate scone for breakfast. They don't have a strong lemon flavor and are not overpowering. Hint: Make this recipe the night before and refrigerated the dough, then roll out and cut. Brush the tops with a little egg white, and sprinkle with a very course sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osoyoos, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
These scones are wonderful. i really liked the flovor of them and im def. making these in the future. [=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I thought these scones were much too biscuit like--they weren't buttery and crumbly but more flaky--and I didn't think the lemon flavor stood out that much at all, even after trying a lemon glaze--I added poppy seeds too and that worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
These turned out pretty well and did have a light, delicate lemon taste. I pat the dough into a circle slightly smaller than recommended and cut it into eight scones. I added a little fresh lemon juice to the batter as well as to the top of dough before I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States