Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
My family really liked these. Agree with others that they need a little lemon juice and a little more sugar, about 1/8C each. I added frozen cherries I had on hand and they turned out great! Goes great with the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
We love this recipe! It is a great quick breakfast. I followed the advise of another reviewer and used a tart lemon glaze instead of sugar and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
These are very easy and very good! The flavor is a little bland, as to be expected, but not bad at all. To give them a little kick, I mixed a bit of whipped vanilla frosting with lemon juice and spread a thin layer on top of each scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
These scones have a wonderful texture and taste, I will definitely make again. I made a few changes- I had buttermilk that I needed to use up, so I used it in place of the sour milk. I increased the sugar slightly to 1/3 cup and as others suggested, added 1 Tbsp. of lemon juice for a stronger lemon flavor. Lastly, I used a lemon glaze from another recipe after baking, combining 1 Tbsp. lemon juice, 1/2 tsp. of lemon peel and 1/2 c. confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
These are FABULOUS and we love them in our family. I made them for my mom for Mother's Day brunch. I did change a couple of things - I used Creamo instead of soured milk, and I added about 2/3 cup of good quality White Chocolate Chips. Next time I might throw in a little lavender as well as I think that would be a nice addition. I have added this recipe to my "tried and true" book of faves. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Very nice! I added the zest of a whole lemon, next time I may add some lemon juice for part of the milk because the lemon flavor is very subtle. Very easy to make with ingredients at hand. Because I was making them in my son's bachelor apartment I had to bake them in an aluminum pie pan, so I just kneaded the dough, plopped in the pan and patted it out evenly. It scored to 8 scones which was fine, they were just a bit taller. I baked for 25 minutes and they were perfectly baked. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Like a slightly sweet biscuit. Not the usual scone consistency I'm used to... more doughy. I did not read other reviews before making the recipe. I didn't had a lemon but did have a lime, so I substituted lemon juice for the vinegar in the sour milk and lime zest for the lemon. Altogether, they were rather bland. Next time: I would be generous with the scoop of sugar and use lots of coarse sugar on the top, and increase the lemon juice & lemon peel. You also might brush the top with melted butter before sanding with sugar. For nice presentation, be consistent with the edges of the cuts. If you accidentally go all the way through on one, match it on the others. I was surprised by how much it rose while baking, and emphasized the cuts - so be even. Altogether, I would make it again but with some changes - and for a brunch but not dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
These were excellent scones. Subbed 1/2 tsp lemon extract for zest, but added lime zest for the fun little green flecks. Light all-over flavor, just barely sweet. I can imagine these with lemon glaze; bet they'd be over the top that way. May try with a full tsp of extract next time around and lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were so good! Mine were a tad crumbly yet moist. My husband was extremely skeptical about these because every "stone" he had tried was "dry, hard, and tasteless." This recipe changed his mind ... well, at least when it comes to homemade scones. I added a touch more lemon zest (we like lemony things), 1 1/2 tablespoons of poppy seeds (for an interesting element) and sprinkled sugar in the raw on top. Turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davidica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
The only things I did different than the recipe was to sour the milk with lemon juice as recommended (and the lemon taste was still very minimal) and add poppy seeds. The scones cooked on the outside and remained very dough-y on the inside, like they hadn't cooked at all. Flavor was bland and the texture was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States