Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made these for a brunch with 8 people, and everyone loved them! I substituted half & half, plus plain yogurt, for the sour milk, and also added a little bit of lemon juice. Serve with clotted cream and raspberry lemon curd -- Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Good, needs more lemon flavor though , not very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Yes this is good. However the lemon flavor barely crept through the biscuit taste. I think it may be because I used fresh myer lemons from my tree and they are sweet enough to eat alone. Knowing this I doubled the lemon but it still needed more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was really good! I made the sour milk with fresh lemon juice and milk, added extra lemon juice and lemon peel. Perfect amount of lemony flavor, just what I felt like having on a chilly spring day! Not dry (as my scones have been in the past). Next time I may try adding some mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
A fine recipe, especially how simple it is, but I've made better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Getzville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
So good!!! I too added the lemon extract & couldn't find the sour milk so I used butter milk. They were perfect. Not too dry, not too moist, not too much lemon. I shaped the dough in a round cake pan, removed and baked on a flat cookie sheet. They looked beautiful. My fiance put clotted cream & jam on them (he learned in Europe) he loved it! PS I'm not very talented in the kitchen but this was super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Delicious! I substituted 1 cup of the white flour with Bobs' Red Mill Pastry flour to add some fiber. I also topped them with a lemon glaze. Do not over bake. Mine only took about 15 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was an awesome basic scone recipe! I see that some people that reviewed it were dissatisfied because it wasn't sweet, but scones are not supposed to be sweet. I only had 1 tiny lemon, so I did add 1/4 teaspoon lemon extract to boost the lemon flavor and WOW! These were the perfect texture, no eggs and if made with margarine or vegetable shortening could easily be vegan. I will definitely be making these again! Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltkdvmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Delish!!! I did change/add a couple things...used 1/3 cup sugar instead of 1/4, and squeezed the entire lemon into the mix, as well as the zest. I glazed a few with a basic vanilla glaze. They were superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trishharrold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Made a few changes: I added a little lemon juice as recommended but I think I may have used a little more then I should have. It tasted fine but, I don't know if this is related at all, it took a lot longer to cook. I guess that could have been my oven though. I used regular milk because i didn't have the vinegar on hand. Also I made what is probably a beginners mistake.... I put the glaze on right away and it soaked through and made it a little TOO moist. Good thing I made a double batch : d
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States