Lemon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Simple recipe and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I have never made scones before, so I decided to make them for a good friend of mine who loves lemons. They loved them so much, so I am going to make them for me now and see how they are. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is probably the best scone recipe I have made.... Very light .....I would add more lemon, only because I love lemon. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is a great base recipe. I used white whole wheat flour (instead of all-purpose) and soured the milk with fresh lemon juice instead of vinegar. I also topped it with a lemon glaze (also made with fresh lemon juice) instead of sugar. Served with lemon curd, whipped cream, and a pot of tea, my kids and I enjoyed a delicious real English breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
These scones were a big hit with my family. I splashed in little lemon flavoring. I served it warm with homemade Devonshire Cream. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Excellent recipe! fast, easy and delicious. This recipe hits a home run. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wondercook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Yep! This is the one I've been waiting for. Thank you Maureen. 3:00 PM and I ALWAYS remember a time when my Irish Grandmother would make something to "tide us over until dinner". We had real churned butter from a Spring house so I used real creamry butter for this and OMG!!! I invited my sister, who lives near me now, and we drank strong hot tea and nibbled on a Lemon Scone. All I had was lime, but it worked. I even broke out Gran's tea pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This recipe really didn't satisfy - I had to alter it quite a bit to get the result I wanted. The scones were way too dry, so I added 2-3 tablespoons of mayonnaise (weird, I know, but it's sort of an egg substitute to add a little more richness and some liquidity to the batter/dough. You could also use one egg yolk). The lemon flavor was not strong enough, but two tablespoons of lemon juice in addition to the lemon zest did well. The scones also weren't sweet enough, so instead of 1/4 c. of sugar, 1/3-1/2 c. of sugar did much better. This adapted recipe really made these lemon scones much better than the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Very good. I used lemon juice rather than vinegar to sour the milk. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I've never eaten a scone before, much less MADE one. But I really like the results of this recipe - except for the soda-y aftertaste - and only hope it bears some resemblance to the real thing. Because of dietary restrictions, I substituted cholesterol-free Bestlife for the butter, 1/4 t Stevia instead of sugar, and "soured" skim milk with 2 T lemon juice. Unfortunately, the latter didn't compensate for the lack of lemon zest. And I failed to allow for the extra 2T of liquid from the juice, so the final product needed more flour (1/4 cup) before I could knead it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States