Lemon Sauce for Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I sauteed some garlic in the butter before adding the flour. I also added some dill weed. This was delicious on salmon cakes. This sauce is quick to make, but have all your ingredients out and ready to go. It thickens quickly once you add the flour and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
To satisfy a craving I made salmon patties with asparagus for dinner but something was missing. I needed a sauce that would go with both that was quick and didn't require searching the Earth for ingredients. I tried this recipe and it was fantastic. The best part is it can be made in the microwave. Thanks. I'll be back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I LOVE this sauce! I even use it as a much easier (and healthier) hollandaise for eggs benedict.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This sauce is great for salmon patties! I use the 2 Tbsp. Lemon Juice, and then add a packet of True Lemon. I also add a bit of thyme, granulated garlic and just a pinch of oregano and basil. I use half&half instead of milk... and don't be afraid of the cayenne... it really makes the sauce! Delicious, and thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I loved the concept of this recipe. I added a garlic clove to the flour and butter mixture (maybe next time I will only use half) I also added some lemon pepper and black pepper as I didn't want it to be too lemony. I didn't measure my lemon juice I just squeezed half a lemon into it. Loved the cayenne pepper in this. I put this on a salmon steak. I cooked the salmon steak in the oven with butter, garlic salt, lemon pepper, and cayenne pepper. It all turned out delicious. It was on my husbands plate a whole of 30 seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very good sauce. Both my husband and I loved it. I served it over salmon patties I made using the Oregon salmon patty recipe on this site. I added a little extra lemon juice since I used bottled juice. Needs a little color though. I used 2-3 drops yellow food coloring and it definetely gave it more eye appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
A great base for a sauce. I was looking for something to top our crabcakes and this sounded like the crabcake sauce we get at a favorite restaurant. I knew I just needed a couple additions and it was EXACTLY like the sauce we love. I used 1/2 cup 1% milk and 1/4 cup half and half. After bringing to boil, I put a big drop of yellow food color to give it a nice pale yellow tint. I did about 2 1/2 tbsp. of lemon (because that was the juice of a whole lemon). At the end, I stirred in about a handful of finely diced fresh red bell pepper and about a heaping tbsp. of capers. Not only did it taste great, the addition of the peppers, capers and food coloring made it look beautiful. Thanks for sharing! It made our crab cakes PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
CopperPot, I think you read the recipe incorrectly. It is 4 teaspoons of flour, not 4 tablespoons. Also, any sauce made with flour should be cooked for a min. or two before adding other ingredients to help cook off the floury taste. Hope you'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
This sauce is really rich and wonderful. I added lemon and lime juice and added heavy cream instead of milk. It was a great hit at a recent dinner party on top of crab cakes. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I added 2 T more lemon juice. Didn't have real lemons, next time I will plan ahead to have real ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Yummy Lemon Salmon Burgers

See how to make quick-and-easy salmon burgers.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States