Lemon Sauce for Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This sauce was pretty good, but it was a little thicker than I anticipated. I think it would have worked better to stir the cooked butter/flour (roux) in by the spoonful to an already warm mixture of milk and lemon juice (saw the tip on another recipe and it worked well). I think by adding the cold milk, it made the sauce chunky. I ended up adding some white cooking wine to thin it out and then had to add more lemon juice. I added some dill, but the sauce really came together after I added some garlic. I didn't actually care for it on the cod I made it for (since I thought it was lighter), but it was fantastic on the rice. Love the tanginess and spice--would like to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is basically lemon flavored gravy - too heavy for the fish dishes it is intended for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Really good and can help with the fish if it's a little over cooked. I added a little more lemon juice to give it an extra zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lndz123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I made this as a sauce to go on crispy skin salmon. My girlfriend absolutely loved it! I browned some diced Canadian bacon and threw that it with the melting butter. I'm so happy I did. I feel like that made the sauce for me. Also, I added some red pepper flakes for a little exta heat, but I like very spicy food. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Perfect for tuna cakes and salmon cakes. I tasted it right after I made it and didn't think it was that great, but once it was on the seafood cakes it made the flavo pop! For some reason it got way too firm as it cooled, but thinning it with warm milk, worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I did add 1 tsp. of cayenne, we like a lot of kick, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I recommend adding 1 teaspoon Dijon Mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I cut the recipe to two servings and we had plenty for four salmon patties. We enjoyed the sauce on Oregon Salmon Patties from this site. I think I cooked the sauce a little long because it got pretty thick. It tasted a little cheesy even though there is no cheese in it. I had to put my pan back on the heat the get the sauce to smooth out after I added the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Made just as written, and it was SUPER tasty. Went very well with my salmon patties tonight. Will make again next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbdahill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscumbia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I think next time I will use 3 tablespoons of lemon juice instead of 2 it may be just my personal taste,i like lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Salmon Patties I

Try this quick and simple salmon patty recipe, perfect for dinner tonight!

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States