Lemon Raspberry White Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This was a wonderful, wonderful cake. I made it for co-worker's party, and not only was the whole thing eaten, but every single person there asked for the recipe, and even talked about it days later. A number of the other reviewers mentioned that the mousse/whipped cream concoction was too runny. That was really my only complaint about this recipe; the mousse was difficult to work with, especially when it came to frosting the outside of the cake. However, after some experimentation, I found that instant pudding mix, added (dry) to the whipped cream/white chocolate works exceptionally well. Not only does it stabilize the mousse, but it also adds flavor. I recommend trying either the vanilla pudding mix or the white chocolate. Also, to add an extra boost of flavor to the raspberry, try adding a few drops of orange extract. It enhances the berry flavor quite well. I also recommend adding sugar to taste. I agree that the raspberry puree can be rather tart. However, don't sweeten too much; a hint of tartness offsets the sweetness of the cake and the mousse. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINUNC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
I haven't tried this recipe but i used it as a reference to make my white chocolate mousse and it turned out great. First melt chocolate with some heat cream and whisk till smooth. let cool down. if you don't it will melt the whipped cream which some who rated this recipe obviously did. whip the cream till soft peaks form and add a stabilizer and sugar to sweeten. whipped cream stabilizers are sold in specialty stores or online. piping gel also stabilizes cream to a nice thick consistency. next mix 1/4 of whipped cream into chocolate that has been cooled. next fold in another 1/4 of cream. do slowly so as keep airy and thick. you'll love these tips if used correctly!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARKRAZI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
Tastes DELICIOUS!! I would double the raspberry filling, as I did rasp. on the bottom, then mousse, then raspberry. I also thickened up the raspberries with a little more cornstarch, so it was like a thick jam. The mousse was a little sloppy though, I think maybe if you refrigerate before you ice the rest of the cake it would go on a little smoother, esp. on the sides. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is a little time consuming, but worth the effort, it turns out very light and delicious. I followed the advise of the reviewer who used instant pudding to thicken the mousse. I just whipped my cream until it was thick and sprinkled in about 2 TBS of vanilla instant pudding and it thickened immediately, so I didn't add anymore, then mixed in the white chocolate, it turned out very good, easy to frost, not runny at all. I didn't have raspberries so I used strawberries and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I made this cake yesterday & put it in the freezer. We're having a big, family BBQ in a few days & I wanted something I could make ahead of time. I read other reviews & took the advice to add instant vanilla pudding to the whip cream. I used a 4-serving pkg - make sure it's 'instant' pudding! It firmed up the whip cream SO nicely. I melted the white chocolate with 1/2 cup whip cream - not 1 c. as orginally written & I whipped the remaining 1-1/2 cups with the pudding). I cooled the white choc. completely (over a bowl of ice water & gradually folded the whip cream in. It was a perfect consistency for icing the layers & piping the remaining around the base of the cake & the top. Also, when I made the raspberry filling - I didn't bother pureeing the rasberries first. When you heat the berries, add sugar (2Tbsp) & the cornstarch/water - the berries break down & puree themselves. This saves time. All in all I found this to be an excellent recipe. You can't go wrong with a cake mix, and the white choc. mousse tasted delicious. The raspberry filling was of a jam consistency - I put it between layer 2 and 3 (mousse between 1 & 2 and 3 & 4). The results looked very professional! Can't wait to taste the final product. P.S. I won't add the fresh rasberries that decorate the top of the cake until I take it out of the freezer and the cake has thawed. I encourage you to try this recipe. Make the few changes that have been suggested by others - you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I've made this cake twice, and I found it relatively easy to make since I'm just a beginner baker. It tastes great too but I don't think that much cream is necessary because I always tend to have globs of it left over. I also strain the raspberries a little after pureeing since I prefer not having the seedy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
The flavors complemented each other very well, but insted of the "mousse" I simply made a white chocolate ganache to frost with. I also drizzled each layer with a lemon syrup I made from lemon juice and confectioner's sugar. I'll definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lfwhitmer
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I agree with the reviewer that wrote the recipe is a good idea, but needs to be re-written. I added a box of instant pudding mix as so many have suggested but it was still runny. It looked lovely until I cut a piece out, then the whole thing collapsed on the runny mousse. It tasted wonderful though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Honestly, the idea for the cake is good, the recipe is NOT! You have to change and adjust so much, if you don't believe me, check what everyone else had to do. The recipe should be re-written with the correct amounts of cream, instant pudding, and directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Primadonamama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Made this cake for my sister's 60 th birthday party. It was a HUGE hit. I chilled the white chocolate and whipping cream mixture before adding to the whipped cream. I also added a box of white chocolate instant pudding mix to the cream. It gave the mousse a thicker texture, which was perfect for frosting and decorating the cake. Thankyou for sharing this recipe. Definately a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States