Lemon Raspberry White Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
I made this for Easter dinner and it was a huge hit. It was fairly easy, and very impressive looking. Th combined flavours really complimented each other. The only problem I had was that the White Chocolate Mousse was to soft to pipe, so I would suggest melting the chocolate with only 1/2 cup of the cream instead of a whole cup. This is a real keeper for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
This was just wonderful. Everyone had to have seconds, and some even thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
Turned out ugly — I had trouble whipping the cream. Definitely my own fault with reading the recipe, etc. Tasted just fine — got rave reviews. Not the easiest cake to make, not a quick project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
I e-mailed this recipe to my daughter-in-law and she made it before me! She used strawberries and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
Tastes DELICIOUS!! I would double the raspberry filling, as I did rasp. on the bottom, then mousse, then raspberry. I also thickened up the raspberries with a little more cornstarch, so it was like a thick jam. The mousse was a little sloppy though, I think maybe if you refrigerate before you ice the rest of the cake it would go on a little smoother, esp. on the sides. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
The mousse is not a real recipie. It just makes running digusting whip cream. It toook me 5 hours to make and it didn't even work. The worst recipie ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
After tweeking this recipe the cake turned out wonderfully. I took the reviewer's advice and melted the chocolate with only 1/2 cup of cream as well, I added gelatin to the raspberry filling in order to make it firmer. It was a great hit for my daughter's first birthday. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
Comments: the chocolate mousse: I took the advice of others and only put 1/2 cup of cream in with the chocolate. There is way too much cream in this recipe. Mine turned gritty the instant I began folding the stuff together. The consistency was not that of mousse either. Also, while sitting in the fridge waiting for the cake to be ready, it totally separated, and I was left with a cup of cream in the bottom of the bowl. next time I would use a lot less cream. The raspberry was fine, watch out though. It doesn't seem to thicken so you think you need more starch. But it does thicken quite a bit after. I think it needs sugar in the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
The flavors complemented each other very well, but insted of the "mousse" I simply made a white chocolate ganache to frost with. I also drizzled each layer with a lemon syrup I made from lemon juice and confectioner's sugar. I'll definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This wasn't awful or anything, but I wasn't really crazy about it. I did as another poster suggested and only used 1/2 c. cream to melt the chocolate. Everything tasted just fine, but I didn't care for the texture of the mousse after it sat for awhile. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States