Lemon Raspberry White Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
So, I usually find cake too sweet to have more than three bites, but this one was the perfect mixture of sweet and a little sour (from the raspberries/lemon). I made the lemon cake from scratch instead of from a box. The frosting/mousse (although it took me five tries to figure out what was wrong) was also the perfect amount of sweetness. With the help of my mom, we figured out to melt the white chocolate in the double broiler, then let it cool, whip egg whites on high speed until peaking, then whip about one cup of cream until stiff-like texture, then fold cream and egg whites together, then fold in chocolate. I sprinkled the cake with confectioner's sugar for a final touch. I made it for my boyfriend for our anniversary but I know everyone in his family enjoyed it because it was gone the next day! It was time consuming first time around, but definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber Burton
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was sooo good!! I did have a little difficulty with the icing, but read another reviewer who added pudding mix to the icing. I did that and it firmed up wonderfully! I was able to pipe the icing out and it made a beautiful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Burton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trish Casella
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Excellent Receipe. I did not add pudding mix as others suggested and my mousse frosting came out perfect. Here's a tip: Beat your cream in a VERY COLD metal bowl with ice cold beaters. (I freeze my bowl and beaters ahead of time). I also put the metal bowl inside a larger metal bowl filled with ice cubes, this makes your bowl and cream very cold. Beat it until it gets still peaks. I have to admit that I did not have white chocolate so I used a half of a bag of semi sweet chocolate chips instead. Also, I put the melted chocolate mixture into a large bowl (let it cool a bit) and folded the whipped cream into the chocolate with a wooded spoon, and with the wooded spoon very lightly mixing till it all blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is a good cake, but the mousse/frosting needs improvement. Next time, I will try the white chocolate pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
The mousse was not runny at all. I only added about 1/3 c of cream to the white chocolate when I melted it (in the microwave instead of stove). The consistency was perfect. The raspberry filling made plenty, so I did 2 layers of raspberry and the middle layer and frosting of the mousse. Overall, pretty good, pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
The combination of lemon and raspberry is wonderful, even my boyfriend who doesn't favor either said it tasted great. I did have a problem with the raspberry sauce.. it tasted okay, but smelled awful which made me a bit nervous so I ended up using regular raspberry preserves and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great recipe! Because there's so much filling, I actually did 2 layers of raspberry w/the icing in the middle layer. After reading many comments on how runny and difficult to work with the chocolate mousse is, I decided to ice the cake with a white chocolate frosting: melt 8 oz white chocolate with 1/4 c whipped cream and let cool. Beat in 1 c. butter, 1 1/4 c icing sugar. Turned out great! No mess, no fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This cake turned out amazing! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I've made this cake twice, and I found it relatively easy to make since I'm just a beginner baker. It tastes great too but I don't think that much cream is necessary because I always tend to have globs of it left over. I also strain the raspberries a little after pureeing since I prefer not having the seedy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I brought this to work and got rave reviews! I made a few changes. I used white cake instead of lemon. I also added about 2 Tbsp of sugar to the raspberries, and added a box of vanilla pudding to the mousse. At first, the mousse turned out very runny and gritty, but I just used my hand mixer on high and mixed it until it became fluffy again. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Remsen, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States