Lemon Pudding Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is such a refreshing and easy recipe. I add Cool Whip on top to make it even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
As written this recipe is a 5 star recipe. It is super easy and soo good.I was confused with the directions for a minute, the directions should say substitute cake box ingredients with these ingredients but mix it together following the box directions. Makes you pause for a second, but no big deal. Make sure you poke your holes big enough (I used a straw and felt the holes were too small) and very soon after the cake is out of the oven, don't wait. I added half the pudding pushing most of it down in the holes and left a light layer on top, then I mixed the rest of the pudding up with some whipped cream and topped it with that. (My only alteration and done the seond time, hte first time I made the cake I followed directions to the T, both are good, whipped cream adds more lightness to the cake). The result was a fantastic light, airy, wonderful lemon cake. I will try this with a white cake and chocolate pudding, chocolate cake with chocolate pudding, strawberry cake with vanilla pudding, the possiblities are endless and all sound good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very easy and very tasty. This time I used Chocolate putdding. I left the choice up to my husband for the flavor. Next time, lemon. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
We loved this cake and so did our neighbors. It was so moist and delicious. I followed the directions to the "T" and it turned out great. I wouldn't change a thing. It's perfect for a bbq on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I wish I could rate this recipe better but there were a few flaws in it. First off, the recipe states the ingredients you need to make the cake, but in the instructions it says to prepare and bake the cake as directed on the box. Well the two aren't the same so that can make it confusing. Secondly, 2 pkg. pudding is WAY to much. I had to scrap some off the top. Thirdly, the recipe says to add the 1/2 the pudding to the cake immediately after taking it out of the oven. Doing so makes the cake slightly mushy. To avoid this slightly cool the cake first. And lastly, the cake needs to be refrigerated so you end up with cold cake. This may not be a problem for you, but I don't like my cake ice-cold. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nennyz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
The possibilities are endless! I've used yellow cake mix (any brand will do!), poke the holes, then pour on orange jello made with about two-thirds the required water, cool, cover with vanilla pudding, then add mandarin oranges, then cover the whole thing with Cool Whip. You can use strawberries with strawberry jello, or peach, or a berry combination... Be creative! But the cake-jello-pudding-fruit-Cool Whip blend is hard to beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LABENOIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
this is an awesome recipe. Very versatile and can use any combination of cake mixes and pudding. I prefer the cooked puuding over instant and use a pastry bag with an eclair filler tip to put the pudding into the cake...very easy that way. mmmmm Tonight we had yellow cake with banana pudding with cool whip mixed into one third of the cooled pudding for the frosting. Thanks for the great ideas here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Very, very good. I started thinking of the different flavors for this cake. For the chocolate lovers out there. Chocolate cake with chocolate pudding and coolwhip frosting? Just think of the possibilities. mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D'Borah

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Fast, easy and delicious recipe. Very light and refreshing end to our meal on this 95 degree day. Followed the recipe with the exception of folding 1/2 container of Cool Whip and 1 tsp of lemon extract into the top layer of pudding and garnished with fresh blackberries. We will make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States