Lemon Pudding Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This cake was moist, light, and delicious!! Upon reading other reviews, I added 1 tsp lemon extract to the cake batter. I spread 1/2 the lemon pudding on the hot cake. Then mixed the rest of pudding with 2 nice-sized dallops of lite CoolWhip. Spread that mixture on top of cooled cake. Then, i drizzled some thickened blackberry pulp over it all. We all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This cake was a big hit at our family barbecue. I would also like to try it with chocolate cake mix and chocolate pudding! Directions were easy, came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Easy to make but definitely bland. This needs more lemony taste so a little extract might help, in the pudding. Texture was decent but, all-in-all, just a mediocre recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made the cake using the directions on the cake mix box, using the whole egg option (vs. egg whites), plus I added 1 tsp of lemon extract. The baked cake was high in the middle (maybe because of the whole eggs?), so I used a knife and cut it down so the top was fairly level and even across. I wanted to leave it in the Pyrex 9x13 dish I baked it in (vs. plating it and turning it upside down, though I guess I could have put it back in the baking dish after flipping it; oh well). I thought the pudding would cover up the cut area and it wouldn't be noticeable. The pudding was opaque and you could see the cut area through the pudding. So, I spread a layer of cool whip over the top, "icing" the cake, which hid the cut area. I refrigerated the cake overnight and took it to an office lunch the next day. Everyone really enjoyed it. I made a simple raspberry sauce served on the side as an optional topping and the tartness of the sauce went well with the sweetness of the cake. May make it again, or a variation using a different flavor mix, pudding, or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I made this for the recent July 4th celebration and got rave reviews from everyone. It's moist and delicious, with just the right amount of lemon flavor without being too tart. I used half a container Cool Whip to "ice" the top after it had chilled overnight. Also, make SURE you cover it in the refrigerator, because it will dry out quickly. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Extremely refreshing and tasty! The whole family loved it, even the non lemon fans! Added a tsp of lemon extract to the cake mix and used half a tub of cool whip on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I used about 3/4 of the batter from a box of French Vanilla cake mix (all I had on hand), and frosted with 1 pkg of lemon pudding mixed with about 2 cups of cool whip & 1/2 cup of sour cream. I turned the cake out onto my cake plate before poking & adding the pudding, then let it sit in the fridge while I beat the "frosting". Chilled the whole thing for two hours before adding candles! Beautiful & delicious!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Not impressed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Most of the family really liked this cake, but I didn't care for the lemon pudding. It tasted artificial to me, and I much prefer a homemade lemon curd. Overall, this was a quick and easy dessert and nothing went to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I've made this cake several times and you can use any flavor pudding or cake. After layering the remaining pudding, I always top with cool whip. Makes it more yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States