Lemon Pudding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Now my favorite dessert!! Excellent. The only thing I'll do different next time is to add a bit more lemon zest and a touch more fresh lemon juice. A big hit and easy to make. I baked it in individual ramekins and sprinkled powdered sugar on the top after done. When baking in individual dishes cooking time is reduced by a few minutes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
YUM! My plate hasn't even cooled off yet & I've already e-mailed this recipe to three people!! This is so good, I don't even know how to describe it - it's like the very lightest angel food cake ever, drenched in lemony sauce. My kids LOVED it (12 yrs and 2 yrs), and even the picky husband said it was good! Just be aware that it gets fairly brown - mine was quite dark on top after 38 minutes, but wasn't actually burnt. Trust it! **added later** If you don't have a microplane zester (well, first - get one! Cheap & awesome! 'til then...): before juicing the lemons, use a vegetable peeler to take strips of JUST THE YELLOW part of the peel (no white if you can help it) and whirl those with the sugar in a food processor until they're all blended in. Add that during the sugar step, not the zest step. Works like magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
I just made this pudding cake and it was fantastic. I only used 1 cup sugar and for the milk added 5 tablespoons instant nonfat dry milk and the 1-1/2 cups water. I also added all dry ingredients at the same time then just dumped the water on top and mixed it up. I baked it in a 2-quart casserole. The finished cake was a lovely angel food cake on top with a creamy lemon filling on the bottom. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This cake tasted absolutely fantastic! The only things I'd recommend are to reduce the sugar a bit (it was VERY sweet). Also beat the eggyolks and butter together before adding the lemon juice, or else it curdles and separates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Just finshed baking this DELICOUS pudding followed recipe to a tee and baked for 40mins. Nice gooey sauce at bottom of dish, intense lemon flavour and perfect sponge cake on top. SO EASY & YUMMY! tip - I added more water to outer pan halfway during cooking (if water evapourates too much you will lose the gooey texture at the bottom).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This was the first time I made a pudding cake and it was just perfect! I cut down the sugar to 3/4 cup since I don't like my cakes too sweet. Both hot out of the oven or cold in the fridge are great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I substituted limes for lemons and coconut milk for whole milk - made a great dessert to serve with Thai main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was amazing! I couldn't believe some of the other reviews. Maybe they didn't do it right. I thought the texture of the cake was good fluffy, thick and light. The pudding was good too, very lemony. The only change I made was replacing the lemon rind for a tablespoon of lemon extract. I may add less sugar next time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Pretty good. I made it with Splenda. Makes this one lower carb. You definately want to let this cool before you eat it. It tastes very eggy when it is warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shoals, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
What a good dessert! Just like a cross between lemon squares and custard. I might actually make it again (which is a rarity).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States