Lemon Pudding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
this is so awesome... the first cake i ever baked and came out perfect. i was scared to bake it at first cuz some reviews says it didnt turn out good... but it did. thnx so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was definitely odd. Not like the lemon pudding cake my mom made in the 60s. It wasn't bad, but there wasn't much pudding just a thin, rather creamy layer. I used meyer lemons, so I cut down the sugar to a cup and used buttermilk instead of regular. I also thought is was a lot of effort- 3 different bowls, dragging out the mixer, and a water bath. I used Eggland's Best organic eggs and the whites didn't get the volume I would have expected from 4 white, but that wouldn't account for the results. Now I wish I would have saved those precious meyer lemons to preserve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Looks pretty good- I tried switching the sugar out for half splenda and half sugar- I added a 1/4 tsp dry non-fat milk powder and a 1/4 tsp of baking powder. I also tried switching out the flour with some whole wheat pastry flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, and the results were just mediocre. Both my husband and brother agreed that the recipe isn't a keeper -- they'd rather have pudding from a box next time, given the choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTA80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
ummmm, I got no cake part whatsoever. and the pudding at the bottom of the pyrex was gummy. The flavor of the pudding is good (I about tripled the amount of grated lemon zest), but this isn't what I was looking for when I made this--next time I will just make lemon bars or lemon meringue pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was amazing! I couldn't believe some of the other reviews. Maybe they didn't do it right. I thought the texture of the cake was good fluffy, thick and light. The pudding was good too, very lemony. The only change I made was replacing the lemon rind for a tablespoon of lemon extract. I may add less sugar next time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I should've known this would have been way too rich and way too sweet by the obscene amount of sugar called for. The "cake" layer was as thick as a pancake. I wasn't impressed with this. It reminded me of a dessert you'd see at a buffet next to the jello. I won't make again. Sorry:( Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This was just lovely. The butter didn't really want to mix in with the yolk mixture, so it ended up pretty lumpy... but it seemed to mix a lot better when the whites were folded in. Butter lumps didn't affect the taste at all. I used the juice of two lemons and all the zest I could get off those two lemons (more like 2 tsp) and it made it wonderfully tangy. It was so nice, fluffy on top and saucy underneath. I thought it was better after cooling just a little while (not hot, but warmer than warm!) as opposed to cold, but it's a personal taste thing. Thanks, Cali, it was quick to make and excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This was great! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. Plenty of lemon flavor. We served it warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I love pudding cake! I made this with Lime in stead of lemon but either way, it's the BEST! I think I would like to use one less bowl but it's worth the extra clean-up. My husband is in there right now finishing it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States