Lemon Pudding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
As written, the recipe doesn't work well. It would help to know that you must beat the yolk mixture on high speed for at least 5 minutes to get it thick. I suggest beating the yolks alone until very thick (about 3 minutes,then beating in the lemon juice and zest and butter. Is the butter melted or only at room temp? And yes, the whites must be beaten until stiff, but not dry. With these all-important tweaks, it will work. I wasted the groceries on my first attempt, and I am mad at myself for not following my instincts, which told me to change the recipe as I described. And the water bath is a hassle. I want to try it at 325F and see if it separates without the water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was disappointing, though edible. The cake was thin and had a funny texture,I think from the egg whites, and the pudding was thick and there wasn't much of it. I'll look for a new recipe for pudding cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Came out just like you said! My husband's choice for his birthday cake. I topped it with a homemade chocolate frosting from this site with vanilla ice cream on the side (his choice also). OOOoooh, so rich and good! I suppose some of the negative remarks were from people that didn't follow the directions as stated. The yolk needs to be thick, the whites need to be stiff. If that is done according to directions everything else works out perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Just finshed baking this DELICOUS pudding followed recipe to a tee and baked for 40mins. Nice gooey sauce at bottom of dish, intense lemon flavour and perfect sponge cake on top. SO EASY & YUMMY! tip - I added more water to outer pan halfway during cooking (if water evapourates too much you will lose the gooey texture at the bottom).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I made this recipe because I wanted to make something sweet with lemon, and it had some pretty good reviews. One person commented that they felt sorry for the family that had this cake as a family tradition, which I thought seemed kind of rude. But, I can say I made the cake and it turned out terrible! I had no pudding like consistency on the bottom, which I thought actually sounded good. And, the cake had no sponge like consistency either. It was dense, sticky on the top, and had about the most BLAND flavor I have ever tasted in a cake. I really could not even taste the lemons either for some reason. Why this cake requires so much work I do not know. This is "not" the lemon cake from the old Betty Crocker books, if that is what you are searcing for. I have since found that recipe. That recipe has a sweet but soft cake with a nice lemon pudding on the bottom. This is not that recipe in taste, texture, or consistency. I am watching kids right now during the day who will eat just about anything with sugar, no matter what it is, and they would not eat this. I would not waste good lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I love this recipe. Its so light and very lemony. great for summer time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I substituted limes for lemons and coconut milk for whole milk - made a great dessert to serve with Thai main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This recipe was a disappointment. I followed the recipe as given, but found it too sweet and found the pudding to be much too runny. No! Not a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This was the first time I made a pudding cake and it was just perfect! I cut down the sugar to 3/4 cup since I don't like my cakes too sweet. Both hot out of the oven or cold in the fridge are great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This had a very good lemon flavor. The only thing I would do different is cover it for part of the bake time as it nearly burnt the top. It was a little messy to serve, but it was fun to try something other than just plain old lemon bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Gurine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States