Lemon Pudding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by BevB
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Very nice pudding. We just ate it with some custard. Very easy to make and delicious to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I was also looking for the Betty Crocker lemon pudding cake mix that was discontinued a number of years ago. Having made this twice with various adjustments others have suggested... I will keep looking!!!! Tends to come out like soggy lemon cake. The 'pudding' never did separate, can't recommend this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I've never tried a lemon pudding cake but from now onwards, this wld be the recipe i turn to whenever i need my lemon fix! Its lower in fat as compared to other desserts so u don't have to feel guilty reaching for another slice! That said, it was a very refreshing and light cake. As what another reviewer put it, its like an angel cake on top with lemon curd at the bottom. The sugar in the recipe was wayyy too much. I increased the lemon juice to 1/2 cup, 3 tsp lemon zest, used only 1/2 cup + 2 tbs sugar and omitted the salt. I had it cold from the fridge and it was great. Can't wait to try it warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecookiejar

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Great recipe. I made it, using adjustments that other people suggested. I didn't have lemon rind so added extra lemon juice for the rind, plus a little extra for more of a zing. I added 1 extra Tbsp of butter, and 1/4 cup of flour. Since there were various people complaining about it being runny, I followed somebody's advice to beat the yolks alone until very thick (about 3 minutes,then beat in the lemon juice and zest and butter). Be careful about it over- browning on the top. I served this to a group of ladies and they LOVED it! One even asked for the recipe. This will be a recipe I will be keeping for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Loved it. Did use 2 T melted butter and added 1/4 cup more flour as someone suggested. Didn't use water bath because I forgot, but it still came out great. Will try a bit less sugar the next time. Even better the next day--cake a bit less spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Not what I was looking for. I've tried to find the exact taste from an old time box mix from Betty Crocker from years ago that's been discontinued and no luck yet. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beema

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Quaker Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was a big hit! I increased the recipe by 50% and baked it in an 11x7 glass baking dish. I also increased the lemon peel to 1T. I served this with mixed fresh berries and whipped cream. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
THIS RECIPE WAS THE NASTIEST....MOST FLATTEST DESSERT EVER....IM SORRY BUT I DONT KNOW HOW THIS RECIPE IS EVEN POSTED ON THIS GOOD WEBSITE FOR GOOD RECIPES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
An excellent recipe!! The cake was almost an inch high and delicious creamy pudding. I added another tablespoon of butter and 1/4 cup more of flour. Also, creamed the sugar with the eggs and butter and FOLDED in the egg whites thoroughly. Served hot with ice cream. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indian Wells, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Now my favorite dessert!! Excellent. The only thing I'll do different next time is to add a bit more lemon zest and a touch more fresh lemon juice. A big hit and easy to make. I baked it in individual ramekins and sprinkled powdered sugar on the top after done. When baking in individual dishes cooking time is reduced by a few minutes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States