Lemon Pudding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was O.K., but not lemony enough for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Took the advice of the previous reviewer and ground my sugar into caster sugar with the lemon rind. Yummm...wonderful aromatic lemon scented sugar!! This dessert has a delightful balance of sweet and tart; just when I thought it was too sweet the lemon flavor kicked in. This is really a delicious dessert and will bear repeating. Thanks, Cali, for sharing this keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Really, really good! I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and it was plenty. The cake part was so soft & light and the sauce quite rich. Great with some cream over the top. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Loved, loved, loved this recipe. It wasn't hard at all. I followed directions exactly. I beat the egg whites stiff first and then in another mixing bowl of my Kitchenaid beat the egg yolks, lemon juice, sugar, and softened butter about 4 minutes on medium high just as recipe directed. Because we have a milk allergy family member, I used coconut milk instead of milk. I even added the beaten egg whites on low speed in the Kitchenaid (something I usually don't do/I am a folder) but I thought what the heck, try it and it worked beautifully. I used the water bath and it wasn't a big deal. I used my big 13X9 cake pan and set the 8X8 inside it after testing for water level. It baked up just great-delicious lemon curd on bottom and tender sponge cake on top. Family of guys loved it. Sprinkled with powdered sugar/might decrease sugar a bit since using the coconut milk. Might also add some coconut next time to see where it ends up, in lemon curd or cake part. I am an experienced scratch cook for many many years and this is wonderful. Don't give up on it, ingredients aren't expensive and its low fat. I just followed the directions. Doesn't get easier or better and I always have these ingredients in my cupboard and frig. Last minute dessert anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This recipe came out perfect, as described, with a soft light layer on top and the bottom was a nice pudding. My complaint is that it is WAY too sweet! I love lemon desserts, but like them to have a tartness and this didn't. I would go along with another reviewer and cut down the sugar to either 3/4 or 1/2 cup and also maybe increase the lemon juice. Hopefully, next time I make it, it will deserve a 5 star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This was very easy to make and the taste was awesome! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
My husband is a lemon fanatic, and he absolutely loved this cake. I did have some trouble making it, since I did not read reviews that suggested beating the egg yolk first before adding other ingredients until AFTER I started having trouble. I let the egg yolk mixture beat for nearly 20 minutes and it never did get thick, so I just put it all together and took my chances. I'm so glad I did! The cake formed a delicious pudding layer on the bottom with a moist cake part on top. I iced it with the Cream Cheese frosting II recipe from this site, which I made as directed except for adding the juice of 1/2 lemon and doubling the vanilla. Overall, just a delicious cake that was gone (sadly) in just a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I am rather new to baking, and I must have done something wrong. The pudding ended up on top and the bottom was really thick and pasty. I've never cooked with separated eggs. Maybe I didn't blend it long enough, or on a high enough speed. I'll try to look for recipes with exact timings for things like that until I learn a little more. I did substitute oranges for lemons because I messed up the first time and had to start over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Delicious and very easy to make. Next time I'll add a little more lemon juice and zest. I think the extra lemon will cut the sweetness nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BevB
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Very nice pudding. We just ate it with some custard. Very easy to make and delicious to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States