Lemon Pudding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Holley Home
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I added a bit of vanilla to the mixture (after adding the flour/milk). Also, while baking, I checked after 45 min and it wasn't browning on top so I started getting worried. However, about 10 min later, it was a perfect golden brown and the knife test came out clean. Family loved it. Definitely saved in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holley Home

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I did the most rookie mistake ever and that was dump everything into the bowl and mix it. Also, the timer didn't work so when I realized an hour passed, I stopped it. It didn't brown on top. It had a spongy texture. It was delicious and my two friends and I ate it up. I can't wait to make it again (the right way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Very light and not too lemony. I didn't have any lemon zest, so I left it out. It didn't really make any difference, I don't think. I sprinkled confectioners sugar on top. Browned ever so slightly - looked and tasted very good. Nice light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Thanks for the recipe. Just had the cake at somebody's house. liked it; so hunted it in the net. Had reduced sugar to one cup and milk too to a cup. But the dessert was not all that creamy at the bottom. It was more condensed. The reduced sugar was just right. But I guess milk should remain as per the original recipe. Thanks a lot for it though. Alka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
One of my favorite old time recipes I lost mind and was glad to find this. But far too much sugar. I use about 1/2 cup and it's great. Also grate lemon zest into butter and sugar--all that I can get from the lemons I use. We like it puckery. Less sugar seems to bring out the lemon flavor. Chocolate pudding cake and gingerbread pudding cake are equally awesome. thnks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Just like I remember Lemon Pudding Cake. Yum!! Only thing was the batter looked too soupy as I was putting it together so I held back on the milk. Just used 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
After reading mixed reviews decided to try this, followed the recipe exact except for adding 1 tsp lemon extract. Baked as directed and came out wonderful! Top was lightly brown, bottom was custard consistency. I do agree with another reviewer that there is an "eggy" taste while warm but even so it is very addictive-I've had 2 pieces already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
WOW; this recipe is definitely a winner!! I made both the lemon and the coconut lime variation that someone suggested, and added some Bird's Eye fresh frozen coconut. My family cleaned all of it up in no time, begging for more! I served the lemon cake warm, and the coconut lime was thoroughly chilled when it was served. Wonderful with a dollop of real whipped cream and fresh grated lime zest. The only thing I changed was to reduce the sugar to 1 1/4 cups. This will make a refreshing dessert during the hot summer months served cold. It can easily be dressed up for an elegant dinner served in individual custard cups and garnished, or as a homey weeknight dessert with comfort food. If the egg whites are beaten correctly and directions are followed, this recipe is really easy to master. Try it folks! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
A similar recipe has been in our family from before my grandmoms time! Simply awesome! The proportions are all just perfect. Next time I'll try and make it with orange zest and orange juice/pulp. Does anyone have an idea how we can change up the flavour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This cake is very pretty and very light in texture. My husband really loved it. The "pudding", however, was quite a bit thicker than I would have liked. I also used Splenda blend, a heaping half cup measure. I'm sure I'll make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Snell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findley Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Tionesta, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States