Lemon Pudding Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Excellent! The cake was nice and moist, the pudding was sweet and tart, the way it should be. I'm sure if you are using sweet lemons, it might be sweet, but the recipe turned out great, just the way it was written! I did take a couple of the reviews to heart, and covered the pudding with foil, after 30 minutes of cooking time. The top was golden brown. Trust me, this pudding tastes even better the next day cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Took a chance with doubling, since it didn't seem like it was enough for the group we were celebrating with and the pudding wouldn't set. Everyone liked the cake part though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Just made this, Lovely, maybe a little too sweet and doughy but still gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great cake! Very light. I've now made it two times in two days. Here are my recommendations - as others said, it's good if you do 3/4 cup sugar and more lemon juice and lemon zest than the original recipe says. The other thing I recommend is to FOLD the beaten egg whites into the yolk batter, by hand with a spatula, instead of using a mixer to blend it all. This will make your cake more fluffy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Oh My God! If I die and go to heaven, I will be happy eating this for eternity. Probably the most delicious cake I have ever eaten, so light and fluffy, full of flavor and the pudding at the bottom! It just doesn't get better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I adjusted this recipe slightly - 1 1/4 cups caster sugar and 2/3 cup flour. I also mixed everything but the egg whites together in a bowl for about 2-3 minutes, using a Bamix with the whisk attachment (the one with the holes in it). Egg whites were whisked by hand until firm, then I poured in the egg yolk mix and stirred them together. Baked at 170 degrees in water bath for just under 40 minutes. Top was very brown, so I will probably cover loosely with foil after about 20 minutes next time I cook this pudding. It was excellent - good lemony flavour, light cake and creamy pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
It was great! I never like the food I make cuz I'm a perfectionist but this was awesome. I made it in a cupcake mold for about 25 minutes so it's single serve. If you flip it over the runny glaze part goes over the cooked part and was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
made this for desert tonite. and although I had to cook way longer than stated in recipe wa DE-lish. will try this with oranges and possibly lime as well thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made for the first time today - wonderful! The mix of the light cake and the pudding textures is delightful. I followed the suggestion to cut back to 3/4 c of sugar, and the sweetness was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
mmm good! Loved it wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States