Lemon Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
My husband loves honey so I incorporated a little bit in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made this for my wife, who absolutely loved it. I thought it was a little dry. Next time, I'll reduce baking time a little bit, and I will let it cool longer than 10 minutes. The cake fell apart a bit when I tried to remove it from the pan. Excellent flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was one good cake !!! I used reduced fat margerine in stead of shortening, 1 fat free lemon yogurt in stead of sour cream and only half the sugar (the yogurt is already sweetened). These were the ingredients I had on hand but it worked out perfectly. The cake was ewtrmely moist and flavorful. Thanks for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This cake was easy to make but came out dry and crumbly with very little lemon flavor. I even added the zest of 2 lemons. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
The cake is delicious to spite the fact that it fell . I don't know what happened but we ate it anyway . Mine was moist also .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
It came out wonderfully and definitely not too dry. It goes perfectly with coffee or tea, and tastes great with a little bit of butter melted on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Rich, buttery and lemony...delicious! A little too crumbly for a proffessionally decorated cake...had to fight with it a little! But I would definetely serve this recipe to my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynzey

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Nanton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
The batter of this pound cake is thick, but very light (I chose butter over shortening) and even withstood being baked in a muffin tin without dryness. Discovering I had no extract when everything was measured and in bowls, I made due with a lemon's worth of zest and it actually did the trick -- just a kiss of lemon in a moist cake. Next time I make this, I'm going to try infusing the milk with fresh thyme or rosemary for a savory spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made this cake and it was exactly what I had a taste for. I used a cup of sweet creamed butter in the place of the shortening and the consistency was perfect (it reminded me of my grandmother's cake). I also used fresh squeezed lemons along with lemon zest in the cake for some extra tartness and was very satisfied with the results. I look forward to making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield Gardens, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! I didn't have enough shortening, so I used softened regular margarine instead. I also used a little butter flavoring. The nutmeg gives it just that little bit of something extra. I took a half tub of store bought vanilla icing, mixed with about a TBSP lemon juice and a little lemon extract and drizzled over the top. Yummy! The texture of the cake was just right. It was not dry at all. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States