Lemon Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
What a perfect recipe! I love lemon, I made these for my brothers house-warming party as little flower cakelettes, topped with a simple lemon confectioners glaze. They were a total hit, much more popular than the excellent chocolate cakes I made. This is a recipe I'll make again and again, very classic and elegant. And just as the recipe says perfect with a nice cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I really loved this cake. I put the batter in a smaller pan and it over flew, as soon as it started baking. I just greased a larger pan quickly and poured the batter in. With all this tragedy the cake was awesome! "Foolproof"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Rehab City, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I did use a lemon glaze; however, I did not find this to be at all dry. Moist cake with a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This is a lovely recipe! I did not have any butter flavoured shortening, so I just used butter and it turned out fine. I added a tad more lemon extract also then what was called for. I halved the recipe and put it in a bundt pan instead of a tube pan. The glaze I used consisted of melted butter, confectioner's sugar, milk and lemon extract. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAYTEKMULTISYNC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
this recipe was delicious! I loved it and so did my family. My father described as thick, like bread. i really enjoyed this recipe! P.S. i am lactose intolerant so I used rice milk. It tasted great just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
great recipe indeed & i followed it as is, but the only problem is that i didnt change the scaling and the default 16 servings recipe is way too much (oh, i didnt use a tube pan, but a regular 10" round pan) - & the cake mix was enough for two of my cake pans so next time I will just halve the recipe portions. perfect moist pound cake texture - delicious taste! i tried my hand at making glaze from melting 1/3 cup butter with 1 cup powder sugar - now that didnt work....it just kinda turned out too dry (not of drizzle consistency) & I didnt know how to fix that. Other than my glaze problem, a GREAT cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Knickman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Area, Central Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This cake is fool proof! I did tweek it bit to fit me. I added lemon zest to it, I also used margarine out the fridge instead of the shortening. The cake came out wonderful. I think this recipe is great for the least experinced baker to an old pro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Made great Muffins. Nice Texture and nice light Lemon flavour. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Will definately make this again. Just what I wanted from a lemon pound cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I followed the recipe pretty closely. The only things I changed were slightly less baking powder about 1/4 tsp less and 25 degrees hotter oven. This is to compensate for high altitude where I live. Also, I didn't have lemon extract so I used lemon juice. Cake turned out great, very light and fluffy. There's just a hint of lemon taste and I would prefer stronger so next time I will add more lemon juice or zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States