Lemon Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Very easy and super quick. Great for tea parties. I like my very lemony so I double the lemon in the cake. I also top my with a thick lemon glaze. (1 1/2 cup powder sugar 2 teaspoons lemon extract and a touch of milk till I get the consistency I want)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Very very simple and easy to make! I've tried a few variations with flavorings and extracts such as orange extract and orange zest, coconut extract and a coconut glaze and each turned out marvelously. I've also substituted buttermilk for the milk and the extra little "bite" it gave it was something I'd recommend to anyone who wants to try that! I too have used butter instead of shortening and it seemed a bit moister than the basic recipe and maybe a tad heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Prepared to the letter. It came out great! I did add a glaze of lemon juice and confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ira Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I stuck mostly to the recipe with the addition of grated lime zest since I didn't have any lemons. This recipe is the consistency of cornbread and though the taste is ok, it's not as sweet as my well talked about Five Flavor pound cake. This cake is just ok and needs to be doctored up for me to take it anywhere for others to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Made this pound cake today for the first time. I didn't have butter flavored shortening on hand, so I used 1 stick of margarine and a 1/2 cup of shortening, 1 tsp butter flavoring, 1 tsp lemon bakery emulsion and 1 tsp real lemon extract. I wanted a true lemon flavor so I omitted the nutmeg. Baked in a 10" tube pan at 350 for 60-70 minutes. Let it cool for about 15 minutes before turning it out of the pan. Smelled delish while baking. Drizzled with a lemon-butter rum glaze (about a Tbsp of melted butter, about a cup of powered sugar, rum to taste, dash of milk - sorry I didn't measure it, just made by sight :)). Pretty good basic lemon pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eholsey1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
this recipe is sensational.....i will use this recipe over and over again....as a matter of fact i will be adding this recipe to my families recipe book....i didn't have butter flavored crisco either, i just used butter and it turned out great....i'll give this recipe 5 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
easy to make, smooth and moist. I made it in my pamper chef stoneware bundt cake pan and it took a few extra minutes (as PC's directions say will) delicious! No frosting needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Excellent recipe! This cake is very easy to make and delicious!!! I will certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Not sure what happened here. Like some reviews that I read, my cake fell. I followed the recipe to a T. The taste was forgettable and I could barely taste any lemon. Sorry, would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is a wonderful cake recipe. I also put lemon glaze on this cake and it came out great. You can taste and enjoy the lemony taste. Must make it. Also it did cook about 50 mins so make sure after 45 mins you stick it with a toothpick. Cake can overdry when you cook it too long. Came out beautifully!!! 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States