Lemon Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made it twice in one week. I shared it with my grandparents and they loved it(my picky eaters). I couldn't get enough. The only change I made was using butter instead of shortening. Will be making this for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Excellent. For the sour cream I added 2tbsps vinegar and proceeded with recipe. I used lemon essence and lemon rind and actually added 2tbsps of poppy seed and turned this into a lemon poppy seed cake. Going to make it again but this time as a pineapple upside down. Sorry forgot to take pics, would do for pineapple upside down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thecookandbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was a yummy recipe! It was pretty easy and didn't take very long. I put mine in a bunt cake pan. Thanks Tamara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecookandbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I am giving this recipe 3 stars because I just made it and had to make several adjustments. My changes were: I added lemon zest, doubled the amount of lemon extract and omitted the nutmeg. (I wanted a really lemony cake!) The baking took about one hour. I then made a lemon glaze from powder sugar, milk and lemon extract, which I poured over the cake after it had cooled for about 15 minutes. I poured the glaze in several coatings/phases so that it was thicker each time. The ends of the cake were rather dry and crumbled like bread, as others have described. However, the rest of the cake was actually moist. Overall, it is very good with milk or coffee. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Awesome. I surprisingly didn't have nutmeg so I omitted by no choice and I still liked it. So did my father who is a pound cake lover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Very easy and super quick. Great for tea parties. I like my very lemony so I double the lemon in the cake. I also top my with a thick lemon glaze. (1 1/2 cup powder sugar 2 teaspoons lemon extract and a touch of milk till I get the consistency I want)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Very very simple and easy to make! I've tried a few variations with flavorings and extracts such as orange extract and orange zest, coconut extract and a coconut glaze and each turned out marvelously. I've also substituted buttermilk for the milk and the extra little "bite" it gave it was something I'd recommend to anyone who wants to try that! I too have used butter instead of shortening and it seemed a bit moister than the basic recipe and maybe a tad heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Prepared to the letter. It came out great! I did add a glaze of lemon juice and confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I stuck mostly to the recipe with the addition of grated lime zest since I didn't have any lemons. This recipe is the consistency of cornbread and though the taste is ok, it's not as sweet as my well talked about Five Flavor pound cake. This cake is just ok and needs to be doctored up for me to take it anywhere for others to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Made this pound cake today for the first time. I didn't have butter flavored shortening on hand, so I used 1 stick of margarine and a 1/2 cup of shortening, 1 tsp butter flavoring, 1 tsp lemon bakery emulsion and 1 tsp real lemon extract. I wanted a true lemon flavor so I omitted the nutmeg. Baked in a 10" tube pan at 350 for 60-70 minutes. Let it cool for about 15 minutes before turning it out of the pan. Smelled delish while baking. Drizzled with a lemon-butter rum glaze (about a Tbsp of melted butter, about a cup of powered sugar, rum to taste, dash of milk - sorry I didn't measure it, just made by sight :)). Pretty good basic lemon pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eholsey1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States