Lemon Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Cake was not flavorful on its own. I added a lemon glaze over top and with that it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This was a great cake. I made it for my brother and he shared it with his Men's Bible Study class. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I read a bunch of reviews and was amazed at how many complained that it either fell, or was dry. Folks, if it fell, you didn't cook it long enough. If it was dry, you cooked it too long. It's as easy as that. I used butter instead of butter flavored shortening. That stuff is like wax in you bloodstream. Also, it tastes awful and stinks. My cake came out perfectly moist and very good. I've made lemon pound cakes before but lost the recipe. I wasn't sure about this one, but as you can see, I love it. It's better than my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe! Not too hard to make and fun to bake. I did not have lemon extract so I made Orange Pound cake with orange extract instead! It still tasted great. For extra fun, I added food coloring. I did not have any butter flavored shortening so I used softened butter. This is a great recipe that i would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made exactly as written and it's perfect! Made into three loaf pans and baked for 35/40 minutes. Shortening gives such a great texture and makes this super moist, I would imagine using butter would be ok but not the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly but it still fell, even after baking for almost 1.5 hours. Taste was OK though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made it twice in one week. I shared it with my grandparents and they loved it(my picky eaters). I couldn't get enough. The only change I made was using butter instead of shortening. Will be making this for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Excellent. For the sour cream I added 2tbsps vinegar and proceeded with recipe. I used lemon essence and lemon rind and actually added 2tbsps of poppy seed and turned this into a lemon poppy seed cake. Going to make it again but this time as a pineapple upside down. Sorry forgot to take pics, would do for pineapple upside down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Hart-Guppy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thecookandbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was a yummy recipe! It was pretty easy and didn't take very long. I put mine in a bunt cake pan. Thanks Tamara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecookandbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I am giving this recipe 3 stars because I just made it and had to make several adjustments. My changes were: I added lemon zest, doubled the amount of lemon extract and omitted the nutmeg. (I wanted a really lemony cake!) The baking took about one hour. I then made a lemon glaze from powder sugar, milk and lemon extract, which I poured over the cake after it had cooled for about 15 minutes. I poured the glaze in several coatings/phases so that it was thicker each time. The ends of the cake were rather dry and crumbled like bread, as others have described. However, the rest of the cake was actually moist. Overall, it is very good with milk or coffee. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States