Lemon Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
I topped this with an orange juice / confectioners sugar glaze, and filled the center of the cake with fresh blackberries and raspberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
I do not like lemon anything..any way, any shape, any form. Until I tasted this cake. I needed something in a hurry for a group of veterans and decided this would be different. When everyone went nuts over it, I decided to take just a bite. Needless to say it has become a favorite. I did use only 2 eggs, and just dusted it with sifted powder sugar. Very refreshing cake. Just plain good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Surprisingly enough with the lemon cake mix and lemon pudding, this cake did not have the lemon flavor I was looking for nor was it dense like pound cake. It was okay, nothing special, and I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
My family loved this cake. My husband thought it was really a homemade pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
I have tried recipes with cake mixes before. They are easy and usually pretty good, but this cake was just so, so. It did taste good, but it was nothing special, and I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I was trying to duplicate an incredibly moist lemon cake I had gotten at a bake sale, but this one was pretty mediocre - not much different than making the lemon cake mix as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
This was a good cake, but not a recipe that I would go back to again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srmacey29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I used this recipe to make mini pound cakes and they came out perfect. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
not at all like a pound cake, i was looking for a true dense lemon cake. i will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised by this cake. Added lemon zest the second time around for added lemon flavor. Had a co-worker tell me it tasted like her grandmother's pound cake. Not too heavy, not too light. Satisfying and extremely easy, not to mention quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States