Lemon Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
I had high hopes, based on previous comments, that this would taste like Sara Lee's. Although it's a decent pound cake, it's not like Sara Lee's. I baked it 40 minutes to slightly underbake it. Since pound cakes are usually better the next day, I hoped that it would somehow resemble Sara Lee's the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Well, I had a bad experience with this recipe. The cake turned out quite oily - it left oil on your hands and there was residue in the pan. I only greased the pan quite lightly, I can't imagine it was that. Also, the cake rose wonderfully for 35 minutes or so and then began to sink. It was only just browned on top when I took it out after about 42 minutes, and while it was cooked through it tasted very granular/grainy and was oily. Some people thought it was "OK", some wouldn't eat it. I think you should look elsewhere. Any ideas on what the problem might be? (Perhaps "cake flour" has two meanings, or something.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
De-lish! Definitely you don't want to overbake it – it will dry out. Top it with a delicious lemon icing: combine 1 tbsp of soft butter or margarine with 2 tbsp of lemon juice, and mix into 2/3 cup of icing sugar. Blend well and spread over the top of the cooled cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
Very nice recipe and excellent with organic strawberries & whipped cream. Any graininess/oiliness as noted by other reviews is probably due to the butter being closer to melted than room temp, it will separate during mixing and cause problems. To fix, chill the lemon juice before adding to re-firm the butter. The recipe doesn't say when to add the baking powder (!) so I suggest sifting it into the flour before adding the flour. Hint: if you don't have unsalted butter handy, leave out the salt in the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This cake was PERFECT. I used it in a Lemon Berry Trifle and everyone just raved over it. The only thing, is that I used the juice of one lemon, not just half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Tasty, but even after baking 60 minutes the center of this cake was almost too moist. It fell apart easily when cut, but tasted great with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Very tasty! I doubled the recipe and left it in the oven for an extra 17 minutes. It turned out very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is absolutely perfect if cooked correctly. At 45 minutes it was still liquid in the center. Cooked another 15-20 minutes it is perfect. I have made this many times, we like it with a fresh blueberry sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
i left out the mace as i don't have any on hand and it still tastes delicious but my family prefer it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Something is the matter with this recipe.. Not enough flour? It was cooked for 45 minutes and I wasn't in the least impressed.. If Sara Lees pound cake taste like this I would never buy one.. It just didn't seem to be cooked enough and it tasted more like shortbread than a pound cake. I wasted my ingredience..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States