Lemon Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is the first recipe that I have tried from this site that was a disaster. I followed the recipe and when it started to bake it just spilled over the pan and nothing was left in there. I was left with a mess all over my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This recipe was great! After reading the other reviews I did add an extra 2 tbs. cake flour to help it firm up. We love lemon, so I also added the zest of one lemon. I made icing with powdered sugar and lemon juice to drizzle over the top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
The Pound cake turned out amazing. I did add lemon zest for one lemon & left out the nutmeg & Mace. I made Cup Cakes instead of A loaf & Cooked them for about 25 min. So Fluffy & just a bit of lemon flavour & it went very well with the Strawberries & Vanilla Ice Cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Tasty, but even after baking 60 minutes the center of this cake was almost too moist. It fell apart easily when cut, but tasted great with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is absolutely perfect if cooked correctly. At 45 minutes it was still liquid in the center. Cooked another 15-20 minutes it is perfect. I have made this many times, we like it with a fresh blueberry sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This cake was PERFECT. I used it in a Lemon Berry Trifle and everyone just raved over it. The only thing, is that I used the juice of one lemon, not just half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
i left out the mace as i don't have any on hand and it still tastes delicious but my family prefer it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
Very nice recipe and excellent with organic strawberries & whipped cream. Any graininess/oiliness as noted by other reviews is probably due to the butter being closer to melted than room temp, it will separate during mixing and cause problems. To fix, chill the lemon juice before adding to re-firm the butter. The recipe doesn't say when to add the baking powder (!) so I suggest sifting it into the flour before adding the flour. Hint: if you don't have unsalted butter handy, leave out the salt in the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I just took this cake out of the oven and I couldn't wait till it cooled to try a small slice. It tastes yummy! I accidentally forgot to add the baking powder to it, so it did not rise quite so much, but I still think it tastes great and seems very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUVBROWNIES
Home Town: Mebane, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States