Lemon Poppy Seed Quick Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
I made this cake for an office party and my co-workers and I just loved it. It's fast and easy and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This was very easy, and very good. I made a lemon glaze for the cake by combining lemon peel, lemon juice and powdered sugar until I obtained my desired amount and consistency. A VERY tasty dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
This recipe is extremely easy and fast. Make sure it cools completely in the pan or transferral to a cake plate can be a mess. (my mistake) I also made a little frosting for the top which gave it a delicious and beautiful finish. I'd love to try it making my own yellow cake, but the store brand was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Cake mix cakes usually don't impress me, but this one is tasty! I didn't have lemon yogurt so I used part vanilla yogurt and part sour cream. I also used orange juice for the water. I grated a little lemon peel as well into the batter. After it cooled, I mixed fresh lemon juice, brown sugar, honey and a little milk and poked holes into the cake and drizzled the glaze over top. Definitely a keeper! Michelle from Belmont, Michigan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
Very good! Very moist, to the point of being nearly gooey. I made the glaze someone else suggested, with powdered sugar, lemon juice, and lemon peel grated--but this recipe really doesn't require any topping. I used plain yogurt and doubled the lemon juice. Thanks! this is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
This was very good. It was so moist and flavorful! I would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I would forgo the glaze. Found it overwhelming, and the cake really doesn't need it. Next time, I think I'll just dust it with confectioner's sugar. Cake was a little "wet" but that may be because I had trouble measuring the yogurt. It's only available in 6 oz containers around here; I was assuming 8 oz would be 1 cup, but it seemed to take more than 1/3 of the second container to fill the measuring cup. But my daughter, who asked for it as a 19th birthday cake, didn't mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This is a great, truly quick cake. I added the lemon zest from the lemons I used for juice, and made them into mini muffins perfect for my two-year-old. They are zesty and yummy! I could have added more zest for added zing, but these are great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was a very easy recipe to follow and turned out wonderful. The only things i changed was i used vanilla yogart and cooked in a 9 X 13 pan. Took only 30 mintues to cook and turned out WONDERFUL. I didn't add a topping but might next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I added lemon zest to the batter, but still wasn't as lemony as I was looking for. Also, was looking for a denser cake, while this one is pretty light. I'll keep looking, but if you're looking for a slight lemon taste and a light cake give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States