Lemon Poppy Seed Quick Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Loved this! Really easy and quick, better totally satisfying. I couldn't find lemon yogurt (6ounces), so I subbed vanilla and used lemon cake mix instead of regular yellow. Still used the same amount of lemon juice. Also, I used this for muffins instead of a cake. Let them bake for 15 minutes at 325 and they came out super moist and tasty! Everyone loves them so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Yummy and very moist! I made my own drizzle of confectioners sugar, milk, and left over lemon yogurt. Thanks for the great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This cake was PERFECT!! It was everything I was hoping it would be. I prepared a simple lemon glaze to go on top and...MMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
My son loved this and gave it a big "thumbs up" with a mouthful of cake. I used sour cream with some lemon extract in place of the yogurt. I also used pound cake so it was a little heavy and certainly didn't rise much, but it was very moist and had great flavor. My husband doesn't like lemon poppy seed so he didn't care much for this, but the rest of us did. Thanks for a such an easy recipe for a nice quick cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I added lemon zest to the batter, but still wasn't as lemony as I was looking for. Also, was looking for a denser cake, while this one is pretty light. I'll keep looking, but if you're looking for a slight lemon taste and a light cake give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was a very easy recipe to follow and turned out wonderful. The only things i changed was i used vanilla yogart and cooked in a 9 X 13 pan. Took only 30 mintues to cook and turned out WONDERFUL. I didn't add a topping but might next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This is a great, truly quick cake. I added the lemon zest from the lemons I used for juice, and made them into mini muffins perfect for my two-year-old. They are zesty and yummy! I could have added more zest for added zing, but these are great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I would forgo the glaze. Found it overwhelming, and the cake really doesn't need it. Next time, I think I'll just dust it with confectioner's sugar. Cake was a little "wet" but that may be because I had trouble measuring the yogurt. It's only available in 6 oz containers around here; I was assuming 8 oz would be 1 cup, but it seemed to take more than 1/3 of the second container to fill the measuring cup. But my daughter, who asked for it as a 19th birthday cake, didn't mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
This was very good. It was so moist and flavorful! I would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
Very good! Very moist, to the point of being nearly gooey. I made the glaze someone else suggested, with powdered sugar, lemon juice, and lemon peel grated--but this recipe really doesn't require any topping. I used plain yogurt and doubled the lemon juice. Thanks! this is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States