Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Really good. I only put glaze on half at first, but they weren't sweet enough so I added it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Definitely needs the icing! These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
bland and dry. Not enough lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Just made these and they turned out wonderful. I think next time I'll use a little more lemon, but these were moist and tastey! Glaze is a must for the finishing touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Silex, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SOLOEBE
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
1) Tried to make them eggless, more baking soda 2) Had no lemon yogurt, used 1/2 fat sour cream and cheap lemon flavor 3) No, lemon zest either 4) Had only a little bit of poppy seeds left, a sprinkle Gave this 4 stars because obviously messed this recipe a bit. And me and my eggless eating mother still thought they were good. Can only imagine if I had the proper lemon-iness and poppy seed amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLOEBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Did not have lemon extract, used 1 T. lemon juice, added a Tblsp or two extra of yogurt. Only used 2 T. of poppyseeds. Everyone enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Pretty good, but they did come out a little on the dry side. I will follow some of the suggestions next time to add more yogurt and oil. It would definitely help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
These are good, but not great. I tripled the lemon extract and poked holes in the muffins with a toothpick before glazing, but I still thought they were missing something. I can't really pinpoint what it is, because with all that lemon from the extract, the zest and the yogurt, you'd think it would be plenty! The only thing I could think of is maybe adding more sugar. I do like muffins on the sweeter side, so maybe that's what's missing for me. Otherwise, they have a nice texture and just the right amount of poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I agree that the glaze makes the muffin, but that was the only thing. The muffins on their own were a little bland, even after I doubled the lemon extract and added lemon juice to the batter. The glaze is amazing, but I'm not sure why anyone would add milk instead of more lemon juice. These were good, but just not lemony enough for my boyfriend and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MR F

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Cooking time was too long. I cooked mine for 16 minutes at 400 and they were a little too dark. Make sure you watch a few minutes before they are supposed to be done to see how long is right for you oven. I didn't have lemon extract or lemon zest, so I just used 1 T of lemon juice. I also added a few extra tablespoons of sugar, and increased the yogurt to 1 cup (I used lowfat plain yogurt). Instead of the glaze I sprinkled the top with sliced almonds before putting them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States