Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
The mix did not look correct so we only baked half at first. We tried to save it by adding more milk but to no avail. There is no salvaging this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I used a whole cup of greek lemon yogurt. I also used 2 tablespoons lemon juice for the glaze. Next time I will add lemon juice to the actual muffins. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
they were doughy - would not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alexis
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I thought this recipe came out well. I wasn't shy on the lemon yogurt and lemon zest. Oh, and the glaze either. I left out the poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Before I start I need to let you know, I did 50% wheat flour and 50% white. They surprisingly turned out very well. They got to be nice big muffins and decent flavor, great texture. I think they could have been more lemony however, I think it is because of the wheat flour they weren't very lemony. The frosting was a great add!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I took advice from some of the reviews and doubled up on the zest and lemon extract. I also added extra lemon yogurt and still found these lacked a lemon taste. The muffin is alright, kind of dense, but lacking in flavor for me. I may try again, but would add even more zest and up to 1/3 cup lemon juice. Believe me, the batter is thick enough it would cause no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These were ok. They were not sweet enough or lemony enough for my tastes. The kids ate them and liked them but I didn't really. Only good when they were hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
These are wonderful, light, fluffy, and delicious muffins with the following changes! 1) use 1and1/4 cup buttermilk or kefir instead of milk and lemon yogurt, 2) increase sugar to 1/2 cup to compensate for less sugar in buttermilk, 3) increase baking soda to 3/4 tsp and decrease baking powder to 1tsp, 4) most times i omit the glaze, and these make a great morning muffin, not just a dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious! I took the advice of past reviews and used 1/3 cup oil instead of 1/4 cup, and used a whole cup of lemon yogurt instead of 2/3 cup the recipe calls for. I also used lemon juice rather then lemon extract and added more zest. I used the juice and zest of 1 1/2 lemons. I also added 1 tsp vanilla extract. I might add more sugar next time because I prefer my muffins on the sweeter side, but even without the extra sugar they came out moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very good, but I would use more lemon flavor next time....more zest or extract. I also added a drop or two of yellow food coloring to give them more "lemon" color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States