Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I made these muffins for the second time and made a few changes that made all the difference. Now I have a recipe that is worth making again. I used the lemon yogart but 16 oz instead of 12 and 1 tbs. of lemon extract. Definately cut the amount of poppy seeds in half, 1/4 cup is WAY TOO much. 1/8th cup is plently, I promise. I also used 1/3 cup of oil. I baked them at 400 for 10-12 minutes and they were perfect. Very moist but not greasy, and just the right amount of lemony flavor. The second day they are still yummy warmed in the micorwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
It's lovely. I used plain yogurt instead of lemon flavored yogurt and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
These muffins turned out quite nice. I couldn't find Lemon Yogurt at the supermarket so I used plain and added lemon extract to it before I mixed in the eggs and oil, etc. Next time I might reduce the amount of poppyseeds just slightly. This recipe made 16 muffins for me. 20 minutes at 350 was perfect in my oven. I will make these again. Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I would have given this recipe 5 stars after the changes I made, but I have to give 4 because it was a bit too dry for me made as-is. The followed some advice by others the second time around and definitely more moisture is needed. So I used 2 lemon burst yogurt cups, 6 oz. each, which 1 and 1/2 cups total. I also used 1/3 cup of oil rather than only 1/4 cup. I did not measure out my poppy seeds. I just used a small little plastic jar of Tone's poppy seeds, which was somewhere between 1/8 and 1/4 cup. (I can see where 1/4 cup might have been pushing it, the amount I used was plenty!) I kept everything else the same and baked in giant muffins tins which made 6 muffins total for me. I dropped the temperature to 375 so the outside wouldn't cook too fast, leaving the middle raw. They came out perfectly, and the the rose nicely giving a decently-rounded top. The lemon/sugar mixture was perfect to pour over the top. This really gives the muffins their flavor. Oh, and I followed the advice a few other cooks and added a tablespoon of lemon extract along with the lemon zest to the batter. This is a great place to start with a lemon poppy seed muffin, just needs more liquids and it's perfect! Thanks for sharing. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
These muffins were very easy to make, and they taste great! I made mini-muffins (350 degrees for about 10 mins.) and they turned out perfect. I really like the extra lemon zest in the centre and I sifted icing sugar over the tops. Watch for the edges to turn brown, and they'll be done. (The tops don't turn brown that much.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
This recipe was wonderful!! I have read the other reviews, and I have to say that I don't know how some people ended up with dry muffins. They were very moist and perfectly browned in 19 minutes. The lemon flavor was perfect with the lemon juice and sugar over the top and the light lemony flavor of the muffin itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
the muffins were awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer McArthur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cook, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made these a couple days ago and have been having them for breakfast. They have stayed very moist and delicious! I made several changes to the wet ingredients, though, which I think helped. I used: 2 eggs, 1 6oz container plain Greek yogurt (standard single-serving size), 1/4 cup vegetable oil, and 1 cup of plain applesauce. The addition of the applesauce makes a huge difference to the moistness, and you can't taste it at all. I also used the zest from 2 lemons, which was probably closer to 1.5 or 2 Tbsp, because I wanted to make sure they were really lemony, and they are - not really tart, just very flavorful. I also used half white and half whole wheat flour (1 cup each), which I always do when making muffins so I can pretend to myself they are somewhat healthier. They turned out really well with these modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
very good and moist muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
The muffins were okay, but very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States